Skip to content

She wore a raspberry beret, the kind you find in a second hand store…

March 9, 2008
CIMG1344, originally uploaded by nickatnight.

 

What do you do when you have an indeterminate amount of a random ingredient in your fridge? We google it. I (N.) have been making a point to look through the fridge before we make our meal plan and grocery shopping list so I know which products we need to use up. Friday I discovered that we had roughly a cup of ricotta cheese that we needed to use up and Google came to my rescue. I found a number or ricotta recipes but I wanted something to make for our Sunday morning breakfast so that limited my options. I love cheesecake but even I can’t justify that as a breakfast food.

I found some pancake recipes that looked promising and one of my favorite pancakes recipes uses cottage cheese so I’m not above putting something random in my pancake. However, we had pancakes last Sunday and again this Saturday so we wanted something a little different. We also wanted to use up some of our frozen fruits and vegetables so I found this recipe.

We followed it almost exactly except we were short a bit of butter and a bit of ricotta cheese but they still came out great. We didn’t have frozen mixed berries so we used raspberries instead. I’m not normally a fan since they are so tart but the sweetness of the cake is a great balance to the flavors. Plus we have leftovers to snack on for the rest of the week 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2008 7:38 pm

    They look lovely! Just the thing I would need after balancing on stepladders the entire evening. Unfortunately _our_ surplus is in kassler (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kassler).

  2. Jason permalink
    March 11, 2008 8:23 pm

    Inspired by your post, I remembered that someone once told me of a website where you can enter the ingredients you have on hand and it will give you recipes based on those. I found that website, but I also found something better: Allrecipes.com.

    If you choose Advanced Search, you can enter the ingredients you want, ingredients you don’t want, dietary considerations (gluten-free, vegan, etc.), national origin, and/or cooking style (slow cooker, baked, etc.). I have yet to try any recipes, but they look great and three of them made it into the meal plan for this week.

Trackbacks

  1. She wore a raspberry beret, the kind you find in a second hand store… | Halle Berry Celebrity News

Leave a comment