Skip to content

But It’s Only One Dollar

April 2, 2009


Quarter Life Crisis, originally uploaded by robots4dancing.

I’m woefully behind on my blog posting and I can only blame the economy for my absence. You see I’m a traveling salesperson and when sales are down I’m expected to travel more. You know get out there and seal the deal! Usually I try to strike a balance between travel and being home but somehow I ended up with over two weeks of almost straight travel. It was insane! I made it home a couple nights only to drive hours and hours early the next mornings to make it where I needed to be. I started in Philly, went as far west as Pittsburgh, as far south as Richmond and as far north as Portland (Maine that is) and lots of places in between.

Anyway along the way I heard a story that I would like to share. There is a woman some of my colleagues know who has a reputation for being cheap, like super cheap, like pinch a penny until it waves a white flag in surrender cheap! One day she was checking out of a hotel and when she looked at her bill she saw she had been charged for a couple local calls. She briskly informed the desk clerk that as a rewards member she should not be charged for those calls. The clerk hemmed and hawed (my colleague thought the clerk didn’t know how to remove the charges and was hoping the lady would just drop it). Finally as a last ditch attempt to get her to pay the bill the clerk said “but it’s only a dollar, it’s not a big deal” Well she looked at him and took a deep breath as she held out her hand and said “then just give me a dollar and we’ll call it even” The clerk said he wouldn’t do that and she said “but it’s only a dollar.” The clerk managed to figure out how to take the charges off after that! You see when it’s someone else’s dollar it’s easy to think it is insignificant, such a paltry amount but when it’s our dollar well that’s just different.

In this economy we are all counting our dollars, perhaps even our spare change and we need to remember to have the same regard for someone else’s money as we do our own.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2009 9:00 pm

    So true! What a great line, I’ll have to remember that.

  2. April 3, 2009 4:55 am

    I do agree! It’s so easy to be generous with other persons’ money. We all need this reminder now and then.

  3. April 4, 2009 4:16 am

    That’s a great response. I’ll have to remember that one, in case I ever need it.

Leave a Reply

