Skip to content

The Clothes Debate

March 6, 2009

Do you consider yourself a clothes horse or a fashionista? My friend Amy has worked retail apparel for years for the same store and thus has quite the wardrobe. On a lark she decided to see how long she could go without repeating a single piece of clothing. After six weeks even she came to the realization that she has an excessive amount of clothes.

I, on the other hand, am quite the opposite. I have a handful of t-shirts, some sweatshirts, some sweaters and a couple pairs of pants (mostly jeans). When I left the military and started working in a “business casual” environment I had to go shopping. Lacking any sort of style or inspiration I bought five polo shirts all the same style but in different colors. I also bought a single pair of khaki pants and a single pair of very dark wash jeans. I searched high and low until I found a simple (and inexpensive) pair of brown “wrestling” shoes. In warm months I wear the polo shirts and now that it is colder I wear my sweaters and occasionally a blouse with cardigan. And because I’m sure you are riveted by my wardrobe details I will tell you I own one pair of slacks and a couple blouses that I use for dress up occasions, church, and when I need to be more businessy. That’s it. A couple of my clothes are quite cute, I have a couple pieces from Anthropologie, but most are simply utilitarian and lack style. But they all function and that’s really what matters to me.

Occasionally I will swoon over something in JCrew or Anthropologie but practicality in function and budget usually win out and I’m fine with that. I would much rather have a very stylish and well decorated home then clothes. Perhaps because I see my house but I don’t see what I’m wearing most of the day? Who knows. I do know I would much rather spend money on decorating my house, getting just the right lamp or some really awesome art work than Jimmy Choo shoes or a Coach purse.

IMG_2372

How do you express your personal style? What would you rather spend your money on?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2009 8:25 am

    If I was allowed to wear track pants to work, I could likely manage a week of new outfits… otherwise… no. I only own three pair of pants. I used to be much more of a clothes horse than I am now. And then one day I came to the realization that I only wore a few of my clothes anyways. So the best policy is to keep my clothes to a minimum so I wear them all. I do very little clothes buying outside of replacing clothes that are worn out.

  2. March 6, 2009 11:59 am

    Food. Books. Tools. -In that order. And often it’s books about food and tools for gardening. So really, it’s all about food. Not all that many flowers in my garden.

    My approach to wardrobe is much the same as yours. If it keeps me warm in winter, or cool in summer, or if it protects me when there’s rough work to be done, and most of all if it fits comfortably, it works for me. Generally, beyond it covering me decently, I don’t give a toss how it looks.

  3. March 7, 2009 7:18 pm

    I am equally as minimalist in my wardrobe. It’s so much easier this way. I work from home, so most days are a fleece and some jeans or shorts (depending on weather). When I go to a shoot I have one outfit that I wear every time, keeps things simple! I love that I don’t have to have too many clothes. I recently went through our closet and got rid of everything we hadn’t worn in a while, and although we don’t have many clothes by normal standards, I feel like we have way too many.

    I was talking to a friend and saying if I had to work in an office I would buy 10 outfits and just rotate through them. That means I’d only be wearing something 2x a month.

  4. jacquelyn permalink
    March 8, 2009 8:47 pm

    Well, I am a clothes horse and I love good style and design. In fact. my 3-year old told my husband today that “mama is a fashionista”. That being said I have a fair amount of clothes and shoes but not so much that I could go a month without repeating something. I prefer to invest in pieces I love and know I will wear rather than a few cheapie items that will fall apart and not look, lay, or feel right on.

    I tend to shy away from “high-end” brands. I think it is asinine to pay good money for a piece of clothing or a purse that is nothing but one big logo—I feel the brand should pay me to advertise for them!

    I like small touches, like a funky shoe, fun accessories, or neat skirts. I pretty much wear all skirts so I have some really cool ones.

  5. March 13, 2009 7:41 pm

    For working in the military, you have quite the eye for all things green and artsy. Love your posts! As for clothes, I’m a die hard rock climber and hiker, yet had to put a dent in my wallet for business casual clothes when I worked in the corporate environment. I would add that nowadays business casual can be fair trade, made in the USA, fun, artistic and eco-friendly.

    Regards,
    Sustaino

Leave a Reply

