Skip to content

Asking for Discounts

March 3, 2009


discount…please, originally uploaded by Jaganatha.

Do you like to bargain and haggle? Personally, I don’t and while living in Iraq I usually gave my money so someone else so they haggle with the vendors for me. But in a tanking economy I’m starting to get over my aversion.

The simplest tip is to walk down to your human resource department and see what if any discounts you can get through work. Most times these discounts aren’t advertised and many people may not know they exist. I worked for the military for almost 4 years before I found out that I could get a 10% discount off my monthly phone bill. After only six months J. just found out he qualified for 17% off our cell phone plan. My current job has been a bit more upfront. I knew right off the bat that I could get discounted ski tickets, free football tickets, discounted Sam’s Club membership and discounts on car rental. At first glance this may not seem like much but every little bit counts.

Asking for a discount at a store is a bit harder. If it’s a large corporate owned store you could probably get a discount on slightly damaged item, otherwise their price is pretty fixed. Small businesses certainly have more flexibility especially if you are dealing with the owner. I’ve been buying a lot of fabric recently off of Etsy and each time I’ve asked for a discount. I’m looking for much but when I’m spending %30-$60 on something that is for me a luxury I like to be able to save a little. Some people have said yes and some have said no but I didn’t lose anything by asking.

Have you ever asked for a discount when one wasn’t advertised? What discounts do you get through work?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2009 2:53 pm

    I recently asked for a discount on my new HDTV I purchased. I was advised that the price is not negotiable.
    I recently was given an excellent discount on 12 Lorapetalum plants I purchased to add to the landscape on my property.

  2. jacquelyn permalink
    March 3, 2009 9:00 pm

    I’ve asked for discounts on flawed clothing, shoes, etc. Usually it is something I can fix with a couple of stitches. My husband comes from a long line of hagglers. You should see him at yard sales!

    I generally don’t like confrontation so I am somewhat reticent to ask for a discount. I hate the feeling that i cold do better if I just kept pushing the issue.

  3. March 10, 2009 5:11 am

    Haggling is obligatory almost everywhere in Tunisia. It irks me a bit that a few street merchants start by asking a foreigner like me for 600% more than the going price but they have helped me get past my aversion to haggling. What really confuses me is when they give me something for almost nothing. I think it might be a superstition and I am their first customer.

Leave a Reply

