Skip to content

Dutch Oven Dinner

February 20, 2009


fried chicken, originally uploaded by (caryatid).

Yesterday J. found out he probably won’t get the new job that he wanted, the news came on the heels of getting turned down for two other jobs. Needless to day he’s feeling depressed right now and needed a little pick me up. I decided to make him a couple of his favorite comfort foods. We had fried chicken fingers (he doesn’t like wings or thighs…) with ancho chili honey and skillet corn bread. I also threw in some steamed broccoli for a little something healthy.

We’ve made this chicken before and really love it. We’ve also adapted it and used the same spices and flavors for baked chicken. I’m not a huge fried chicken fan so I’m just as happy to bake chicken and not have to deal with getting rid of the oil. I would say that if you fry the chicken it’s very important to pat the chicken dry before dredging so you get really crispy chicken skin.

Cornbread is a staple in our house and we use this recipe but bake it in our cast iron skillet. The temperature is the same but it bakes for about twice as long. Keep in mind we like our cornbread sweet and without any actual corn pieces in it.

What’s your favorite comfort food recipe?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2009 8:31 am

    HM, I love butternut squash soup with a crusty piece of bread. I actually love pretty much any kind of soup with bread. Eggs and toast always makes me feel warm & happy too.

  2. February 20, 2009 8:32 am

    Oh yes, I forgot to state my regrets for J. not getting the job he wanted. So sorry.

  3. February 21, 2009 4:26 pm

    Cprnbread in a skillet! Woman after my own heart! I realize you have your staple recipe (not dissimilar to one I use) but just in case you want to rung a few changes, would you like a copy of my most recent book, The Cornbread Gospels?

    My publisher has been kind about sending out review copies of the book if I ask nicely and not too often. Sometimes, what someone has to say on a cornbread-related subject tells me they’d enjoy the book. I think you would … plus, of course, a comfort food extraordinaire as you already know, and perhaps it would be a cheering note J looks for another job he wants (and you do the cheering-him-on thing; I have been in that role in the past and it’s not the easiest)?

    If you like one, I’d be pleased to set it up. Just e me your snailmail address, to crescent@dragonwagon.com and I’ll have them get on it. No review, positive or otherwise, necessary, required, or expected.

    warmly,

    cd

  4. June 11, 2009 6:56 am

    i like chicken..especially when it is cooked with dutch oven. Like your blog as well, pretty simple.

Leave a Reply

