Skip to content

Making Stock

February 19, 2009
 

Sir turkey, originally uploaded by Aaltra.

 

Right after Thanksgiving Day I (N.) collected all my turkey bones and dutifully froze them to one day become stock. I read somewhere that you should do this within 2-4 months which means I needed to get this done! I’ve never made any sort of stock before so I went online and found tons of recipes. Basically they are all the same so it doesn’t seem to matter too much which one you choose.

The process isn’t hard although it can get a bit tedious getting the majority of the meat off the bone. It will take you awhile (about 4 hours) so make sure you are going to be around all day but it’s a low maintenance project once the stock is simmering.

Ingredients:

  1. 7 pounds turkey parts, such as wings, thighs and drumsticks
  2. 16 cups water
  3. 1 large onion, thickly sliced
  4. 1 large carrot, thickly sliced
  5. 1 large celery rib, thickly sliced
  6. 2 garlic cloves, sliced
  7. 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  8. Freshly ground pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400�. In a large roasting pan, roast the turkey parts for about 1 1/2 hours, or until well browned; transfer to a large pot.
  2. Set the roasting pan over 2 burners. Add 3 cups of the water and boil, scraping up the browned bits from the bottom of the pan. Add the liquid to the pot.
  3. Add the onion, carrot, celery, garlic, salt, several pinches of pepper and the remaining 13 cups of water to the pot. Bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to moderately low, cover partially and simmer the stock for about 2 1/2 hours. Strain the stock and skim the fat before using.

You can also add thyme, parsley, cloves etc based on your personal taste. Be careful though of adding too much salt or you will regret it later.

It seems people disagree on how long you can store it but it seems 1 month in the freezer is fine and perhaps up to 3 will be okay.

Do you make your own stock? What flavors do you add?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2009 7:48 am

    I love making my own stock. I always add thyme (which I keep a pot of in the kitchen window). I also add onions, celery, carrots, bay leaf, garlic and a few peppercorns (a whole clove is also good). I usually leave the salting to the final recipe I’m using the stock in.

    I keep mine in the freezer usually, sometimes I can it. It keeps for quite a while in the freezer (although I use glass containers which helps it keep longer).

  2. Una permalink
    February 19, 2009 12:40 pm

    I do this every time I roast a chicken, or turkey, or, just recently, a goose. Taking the meat off the bone is much, much easier when things are warm – don’t refrigerate your bird carcase, thinking you’ll get to it tomorrow. If I am using chicken pieces, rather than a picked over carcase, I will simmer them until cooked, but not over cooked, remove them from the pot, allow to cool a bit, remove the meat (for soup, salad, whatever), and return the bones to the pot to continue cooking. A large slow cooker is ideal for making stock.

Trackbacks

  1. Making Stock « Bad Human! Don’t take chemicals from strangers! « My Fund house

Leave a Reply

