Skip to content

The Multi Purpose Baking Stone

February 12, 2009


Fresh baked, originally uploaded by Shutterbug Cel.

I don’t know about you but I have quite a few single or dual purpose kitchen gadgets that sit around collecting dust most of the time. Since I don’t want to get rid of them I’ve been trying to think of other ways to use them.

For example we bought a baking stone for bread. Shortly after that we discovered a dutch oven bread recipe that we prefer more… Pizza is an obvious alternative and we make that about once every couple weeks. Cookies on the other hand are made about once a week here.

Neither J. or I had made cookies on a baking stone before and we struck out in trying to find any recipes. The Pampered Chef baking stone comes with a recipe book but our baking stone did not. After doing a little searching online it seemed like we could treat the baking stone like a baking sheet but we were hesitant. After all a baking stone is going to conduct heat a lot differently than a metal sheet.

But it worked! We followed this recipe almost to the letter. The only thing we changed was the baking time. It took about 5-7 minutes longer per batch. If you try to remove them before they are done you will find it almost impossible. You will also want to let the baking stone cool off a bit in between batches and possibly reduce the time for the second batch as the stone will be warmer than it was with the first batch. The cookies came out amazing! I prefer cakey cookies to chewy ones and these had a crisper outside but a nice cakey/chewy inside that I don’t think you could duplicate on a metal sheet.

What do you use your baking stone for?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2009 8:07 am

    I’m a ‘traditionalist’ if there can be such a thing for baking stones. I use mine for bread only. And pizza. That’s it.

    I had an old baking stone that I used a few times for cookies and while I like the slightly crispier taste it didn’t get over too well for the rest of my family.

    I’ve not tried bread in a dutch oven yet—but I plan to soon.

  2. February 12, 2009 11:43 am

    I use mine for pizza & bread. It’s also a great way to warm up pizza.

  3. Susan Cosgrove permalink
    February 15, 2009 2:08 pm

    I use my baking stone for lots of things. Cookies, biscuits, warming anything that won’t run off. It’s difficult to burn anything on it. just remember to put it in a hot oven. It will crack if you put it in a cold oven and heat it up.

  4. February 18, 2009 9:09 pm

    I use my baking stone for pizza. However, I have a baking pan from Pampered Chef with a low edge that I use for cooking chicken. I throw a bunch of drumsticks on that pan with some salt and pepper, bake at 400, and they seem to turn out extra crispy.
    I’ve got to try cookies on my stone, but I must say I make pizza a lot more than I make cookies.

  5. May 29, 2009 3:35 pm

    Found a rectangular stone in a household sale. Made cookies on a heated stone. Put cookie batter on parchment paper and slid off on to stone from cold tin. Baked 5min longer and slid paper off to tin when done. Slick. No mess or extra handling of stone.

Leave a Reply

