Skip to content

Sold!

February 1, 2009


IMG_2866, originally uploaded by https://badhuman.wordpress.com.

J. and I decided to fund a special night out for Christmas by selling stuff from our basement. We did so well that I decided to keep going and try to make some money to purchase a used sewing machine. So far I’ve made $131 which is pretty good! It’s enough to buy a used Brother Sewing Machine that I found on Craigslist.

At first I was looking at buying a more expensive used model so I wouldn’t have to upgrade in a couple years when I’m more adept at sewing. But I realized I don’t know that I’m going to use the machine enough to warrant a more expensive model. Right now it makes more sense to purchase a less expensive model.

Most items I sold will not be missed, the exception to that is the Canon Rebel pictured above. I bought it myself when I started to get interested in photography and we’ve gone through rolls and rolls of film together. For my birthday last year J. bought me a digital Rebel and since then the 35mm has sat gathering dust. That seems a sad life for such a great instrument so I decided to sell it. You can’t make much money off them so I didn’t even try. I listed on my local Craigslist as a 35mm for $35 complete with film and a carrying case. Happily a college student who is going to take a photography class next semester purchased it. I realize the camera is an inanimate object but I like to think it will enjoy it’s new life.

Hopefully I can get as much use out of my first sewing machine as I did my first camera!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 2, 2009 12:23 pm

    I agree with your sewing maching choice. My mom has a super nice expensive model I used to borrow all the time. When it was time to purchase my own I chose a good quality simple machine. I really only need straight & zig zag stitch.

Leave a Reply

