Skip to content

In Search of Bread

January 24, 2009


Tuna Mayonnaise Sandwich, originally uploaded by SeetYing.

Now that’s we’ve mastered the Amish white bread recipe we wanted to stretch our baking wings a bit and see if we could accomplish something a little more difficult. And, to be completely honest, we want something with a little more flavor to it.

For Christmas we asked for and received Maggie Glezer Artisan Baking. Most of the recipes require a sourdough starter, which we don’t have, so we decided to try “Judy Unruh’s Wedding Zwieback.” You can use the recipe to make sturdy rolls but we used it in a pan to make sandwich bread. I (N.) think this is the best one we’ve tried so far but it takes a lot of time and steps to make it.

First you mix the ingredients and refrigerate for at least 8 hours (but they recommend up to two days for the best flavor), then let it warm to room temperature, about 2 hours. Shape the dough and let it proof for two hours before baking for about 45-50 minutes.

You can certainly mix it the night before but it will still take another day for the rest. We had our bread with dinner that night and it was yum!

I think this it the perfect sandwich and toast bread. It has a nice thin crust and a dense, fine grained texture I haven’t found in any other loaf of bread.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2009 9:19 am

    I love making bread! I have a sourdough starter that has been living in my fridger for a few years. Every couple weeks it gets to come out so I can make some english muffins or bread.

    There’s just something about homemade bread!

  2. January 24, 2009 10:17 am

    OK. You must have read my mind – guess what we’re doing today? I’m making a couple of loaves of egg bread and a big batch of rolls.

    Nothing like homemade bread to warm up a day when the bottom seems to have fallen out of the thermometer!

  3. January 24, 2009 12:48 pm

    Heh, I’m a barbarian with a baking machine 🙂 However I recently tried a no-kneed bread from a recipe in the latest issue of Mother Earth News. Turned out really well, not only did it taste good, but the loaf looked like it was made by a professional baker. I was childishly proudof it.

  4. January 25, 2009 3:33 am

    oh, ilike the photo, its stunning.

  5. Red Fern permalink
    January 26, 2009 7:21 pm

    For the past several months I’ve been baking more things and more frequently than ever in my life! I keep thinking the urge to bake will sort of fade away but every week, I do it again! My favorite bread lately is called “Ecology Bread”. Cannot remember where I picked up the recipe but it has oats in it, is very simple to make and produces a wonderful, soft yet dense loaf. I think of it as the wonder bread loaf: it makes for very soft and wonderful sandwich slices. Also I shape some of it into rolls that are yeasty and delish!

    Happy baking!

Trackbacks

  1. Dutch Oven Bread « Bad Human! Don’t take chemicals from strangers!

Leave a Reply

