Skip to content

Freecyling our Wedding

January 1, 2009


057, originally uploaded by https://badhuman.wordpress.com.

J. and I got married one day and started driving across the country the next so I suppose it is no surprise that we still have boxes of unsorted wedding paraphernalia. While we tried to keep the amount of waste generated by our wedding to a minimum I still ended up with a couple of boxes of leftover craft supplies and decorations.

It’s pretty easy to build up a surplus especially when you are doing a lot of things yourself but my advice is to think twice and come up with a complete plan before you buy. I ended up with a bunch of different tissue papers I never used. For a while I planned on making pom poms like these but decided against it eventually… I also ended up with a bunch of flower punch outs whose original purpose I no longer remember. That’s not to say I didn’t end up using my supplies, I made flower bouquets for my bridesmaids, the centerpiece flower pots, my own thank you cards, my own invitations and my own favor bags. One of my bridesmaids was a rock star and actually made the cookies we used as favors. But if I had thought everything out I could have saved myself some money.

Now that all has been said and done for a couple months I didn’t want to throw the stuff out and I’m afraid if I took it to Goodwill they would throw at least some of it out. So I rediscovered the joy the of Freecycle. When we were going through our belongings in Colorado we were able to Freecycle a bunch of our stuff to people that either needed it or would use it more than we did. Since Freecycle is broken into cities I joined the Philly group and within an hour I had 35 responses. Now my craft stuff will end up with someone that can use my odds and ends for kids projects or perhaps scrapbooking and general crafting.

While I would have loved to get money for some of that stuff (especially the card stock and unopened tissue paper) I wouldn’t have had much luck on Craigslist and I’m not waiting for Spring to have a sidewalk sale. Goodwill would have undoubtably thrown out the half used paints and markers. This way it will all go to use in someway. If you ever give up a hobby, throw a party or get married don’t keep the remnants, pass them along to someone else. By the same token if you are trying to throw a party check out your local Freecycle. You don’t have to wait for someone to list something you can also post “wanted” ads and have free stuff simply come to you.

Do you Freecyle?

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 3, 2009 12:18 am

    great post thank you

Leave a Reply

