Skip to content

A Free Night Out

December 19, 2008


017, originally uploaded by Perry.easy.

J. and I don’t get to go out very often and we would never pay to see a professional basketball game but when 4 tickets were given to us… Well who are we to turn them down?

Normally I’m not a sports fan and I think most ticket prices are outrageous so I can count the number of games I’ve been to on one hand (and I got to see all those for free too!). But a couple days ago J.’s boss gave us four tickets and a parking pass to see the 76ers play this past Wednesday.

We knew going into it that we wouldn’t last the whole game but since it was free I wasn’t really worried. We also made sure to eat dinner before we went and agreed to share a drink and a snack at the game. We had to live a little! The tickets were $120 a piece and I imagine the parking pass was $20-$30 so the total value was over $500 since we got four tickets- that’s insane. I don’t know how people can afford to go out to these kind of events with their families. Granted our seats were 8 rows from the court so there were definitely more budget friendly seats to be had but even if they were $50 each… We did try to give the other two tickets away but no one wanted to come into Philly on Wednesday night to see the 76ers play the Milwaukee Bucks (I’m sure this how the tickets trickled down to us in the first place).

But we had a blast. Even though we don’t normally watch sports or basketball in particular it’s different when you are out at the game surrounded by people, it becomes a whole experience. I even found myself getting into the game a bit and we both made sure to check the final score this morning. It’s good lesson in trying new things, especially those that are free.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 20, 2008 3:47 am

    Hello, Wishing you both a very Merry Christmas. Like the new pic. I agree, do not know how people afford to spend the kinda money they do on sports events. I am guilty also the trickling down affects of ticket owners who do not wish to attend a NFL game and have been to several. I never turn down freebies.
    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

