Skip to content

Tom’s B.O. Blocker

December 17, 2008


Sea-jewels…, originally uploaded by nascity.

I (N.) sincerely doubt anyone is worried about this little guys body odor unless its coming from his diaper! For the rest of us body odor is a concern at least part of the time.

I tried Weleda Citrus Spray for awhile and was not impressed with the results, you can read my full review here. Since I didn’t like the spray I was hoping the traditional stick would be more effective. I bought the Unscented Tom’s of Maine Natural Long Lasting Care (say that ten times fast). It is supposed to be effective for 12 hours using “the botanical hops to inhibit growth of odor-causing bacteria and zinc ricinoleate to absorb odor.” It’s also aluminum free which is something you want to look for in any deodorant. In addition to being a known toxin aluminum prevents us from sweating causing issues with our sweat glands and lymph glands.

Ideally I wanted something aluminum free and as plastic free as possible which is why I tried Weleda, failing that I decided I could live with a plastic container if the product inside was effective. It’s far better than Weleda because it gives consistent coverage. My big issue with Weleda was that it smelled very strongly when you first applied it and then disappeared leaving the smell of body odor within a couple of hours. The bottle recommends applying as needed but that doesn’t really fit my lifestyle.

Tom’s lasts about 6-8 hours which is all I really want. Towards the end of the day or if you’ve been very active you will notice the smell of body odor (or at least I did). It isn’t overwhelming or offensive though. It’s a great everyday deodorant but to be completely honest I still have a stick of Mitchum’s on hand when I have a really important meeting that’s going to last the whole day or involve being outside. Part of that is the additional protection against smell but more importantly it is an antiperspirant and I’m sorry but I don’t want sweaty pits when I’m trying to convince someone to spend ten of thousands of dollars.

I haven’t tried it yet but you can make homemade deodorant with baking soda and essential oils or trying apple cider vinegar or witch hazel extract.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 18, 2008 8:08 am

    Mr Chiots really like arm & hammer deodorant (not anti-perspirant). I don’t believe it contains aluminum. It isn’t “all-natural” by any means, but at least it doesn’t have the aluminum in it.

Leave a Reply

