Skip to content

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

December 16, 2008

 

Blogland abounds with holiday cookie recipes and for those that participate you’ve probably been wrist deep in butter and sugar for at least a week now but I’m a slacker. A lack of planning means I didn’t purchase cookie making supplies last week and I’m not going shopping again until next week.

In the meantime I received an email for Pumpkin Cookies which may be more of a Thanksgiving treat but I still had pureed pumpkin and a strong urge for cookies so I decided to give it a go. The original recipe calls for white chocolate chips but I didn’t have any so I used semi-sweet and they still taste great.

Pumpkin Harvest Cookies (an old Mrs. Fields recipe)

  • 2 1/4 c Flour
  • 1 t pumpkin pie spice (or combo of mostly cinnamon, tiny bit nutmeg, tiny bit cloves)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 sticks butter, softened, 1 cup
  • 1 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 cup pumpkin, canned
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 8 oz white chocolate, chopped (I used semi-sweet)
  • 1 c pecans or walnuts, toasted and chopped (I don’t like nuts in my baked goods so we omitted these as well)

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  • Stir together flour, spices and baking soda; Set aside
  • Cream butter and sugar.
  • Stir in eggs, pumpkin and vanilla.
  • Add dry ingredients and stir until mixed.
  • Stir in chocolate and nuts.
  • Drop by spoonfuls on cookie sheets and bake for 12-15 minutes.

The dough came out wetter than traditional cookie dough so be warned these will spread when they bake. Don’t worry though they still come out nice and cakie 🙂 There is a hint of pumpkin flavor but it is by no meals overwhelming perhaps owing to the large amount of vanilla in the cookies.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2008 8:32 am

    This will come in handy when I roast one of my huge pumpkins and need recipes to use up all of the puree. Sounds delicious!

  2. December 16, 2008 4:10 pm

    I just wanted to say the change is great. I really like your new look.

Leave a Reply

