Skip to content

Giving and Receiving

December 13, 2008

Snack attack, originally uploaded by greenapplegrenade.

 

This week I made $23 selling stuff on Craigslist in addition to the $20 I cashed in from taking surveys. This brings my total to $95 from selling on Craigslist in order to raise money for J and my night on the town as our Christmas gift to one another. When I first started taking surveys it felt like it would take forever to be able to qualify for any cash and I’m still not sure it’s worth it but I certainly can’t complain about the extra $20!

In the process of selling my stuff on Craigslist I got to meet a lady named D. who it turns out lost her job recently and has been forced to reevaluate her Christmas gift giving. Instead of trying to spend less but still get stuff she has decided to give one of the most precious commodities in our lives today- time. The adults in her life are getting dinner coupons (made by her of course) and the children are getting coupons for a special dessert. And she isn’t just making these things to order for the recipients she is making the dinner or dessert with them. What better gift for the holidays then time with a loved one and memories that will last a lifetime.

She purchased the ramekins and individual tart pans from me to make some creative desserts. I suggested giant peanut cups in my Craigslist add and after we met she sent me this recipe.

Magical Peanut Butter Cookies
Recipe courtesy Paula Deen
Show: Paula’s Home Cooking
Episode: Healthy Cooking

  • 1 cup peanut butter, creamy or crunchy
  • 1 1/3 cups baking sugar replacement (recommended: Splenda)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a large baking sheet.
  • In a mixing bowl, combine the peanut butter, 1 cup sugar replacement, the egg, and vanilla, and stir well with a spoon.
  • Roll the dough into balls the size of walnuts. Place the balls on the prepared baking sheet.
  • With a fork, dipped in sugar replacement to prevent sticking, press a crisscross design on each cookie.
  • Bake for 12 minutes, remove from the oven, and sprinkle the cookies with some of the remaining sugar replacement.
  • Cool slightly before removing from pan.

I’m not big on Splenda myself but I appreciate that she thought to share this recipe with me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 13, 2008 8:43 am

    That’s a great idea. Mr Chiots and I have a few things we need to sell.

    I have cashed in $35 in survey checks this year, it’s not much, but for some extra time here it’s not bad. We’re depositing these in our Dream Alaskan Cruise fund. I suppose I’ll be able to buy a coffee or two with it.

Leave a Reply

