Skip to content

You “Two Can” Help

December 4, 2008


Big cans of food, originally uploaded by andrivete.

There are a lot of challenges out in blogland. You can freeze or buns, go plastic free for the holidays, and buy sustainably among others. I’ve participated in a number of challenges but never started one of my own. Personally I don’t think I have the readership so instead of issuing a challenge per se I’m committing to do something myself and encouraging others to do the same. I don’t have a logo (I don’t have any idea how they do those) and there isn’t a prize but I promise you will help to make a difference.

Thousands of food banks across the country are facing severe food shortages at a time when need is higher than ever. As an example the “Greater Boston Food Bank survey last month of 25 agencies around the state found that 96 percent had an increase in demand. Of those, 58 percent saw demand rise between 20 percent and 40 percent. Over the past year, the survey found, 52 percent of agencies ran out of food at some time. Fifty-eight percent reported a drop in donations.” I realize that times are tight and only getting tighter but can we really turn our back on the millions of people that rely on food banks to survive? Federal and state aid is being cut as legislatures are forced to prioritize programs to support with limited funds available. Obama supporters across the states and certainly across blogland were motivated by “yes we can” and I hope that at least a portion of that energy can be committed to raising funds or food.

For my part I’m going to donate at least two cans or boxes of food a week which will only add a couple dollars to my grocery bill. Me doing this won’t make a difference but the more people that commit to this small action the greater difference we all can make.

If you don’t know where your local food bank is you can find a list organized by location here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2008 3:49 am

    Hello, I will match your donation here in my community as well as mention it at work this a.m. in our morning meeting.
    Happy Holidays!

    p.s. Love the picture.

  2. knutty knitter permalink
    December 5, 2008 3:51 am

    We have a can collection coming up where the local ambulance, fire service and police sound sirens and collect cans throughout the city. This bolsters the food banks for Christmas. The kids love it because of the fire engines so they get lots of cans all given at our front gates 🙂

    viv in nz

  3. December 5, 2008 1:00 pm

    Thank you for suggesting this challenge. I think I will participate, and encourage my community members to do the same. Two cans a week seems like so little, but over time it would add up and really help the many hungry people out there!

  4. December 6, 2008 4:18 pm

    It’s a great challenge and one I am up to trying. I agree two cans are not going to up the bill that much (it’s easier to waste more than that on silly things like lottery tickets and single coffees). I have to say, though, I disagree that just *you* aren’t going to make a difference: to the person or family toting home your canned goods, a difference is made! 🙂

    Thanks for challenging us!

Leave a Reply

