Skip to content

Giving Tree

December 3, 2008


Angel #2, originally uploaded by lori fury.

I’ve (N.) mentioned before that I don’t have a lot of set Christmas traditions, we did a lot of different things and visited a lot of different places over the course of the years. One tradition I do remember and carry on is to take a name off the Giving Tree (sometimes known as an Angle Tree) and buy Christmas presents for someone that might not otherwise receive anything.

Each year my mom and I would pick one or two off the tree at the mall and have fun purchasing gifts for someone else. I won’t say I didn’t get jealous when I was little but participating in this taught me to think of other people. It reminded me throughout the years not only how lucky I am but that I have a responsibility to share that with those less fortunate.

This year J. and picked two ornaments off the tree at our church and have made the commitment to purchase those gifts sustainably. Since we don’t have kids or nieces and nephews it should be quite interesting 🙂

If you get the chance I would recommend not only participating in a Giving Tree or Angel Tree but involving your own children.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2008 9:05 am

    As a former recipient of items like this, I just want to say that I really appreciate people who take the time to remember others. I was 20, poor, single, and a mother with a 6 month old baby. It was 2004. I couldn’t afford anything Christmas-y and I was walking around in a funk. I saw a United Way flyer and thought, “What the heck, why not?” I put down what I needed, and I received a fake Christmas tree, a bunch of ornaments, music, clothes (which we desperately needed), and some other gifts for my baby.

    It was quite possibly the best Christmas of my life because I expected nothing and I got so very much (emotionally speaking).

Trackbacks

  1. Trash Talkin’ « Bad Human! Don’t take chemicals from strangers!

Leave a Reply

