Skip to content

Day After Breakfast

November 28, 2008
 

Blueberry waffles, originally uploaded by marybarbour.

 

My mom and I have a long standing tradition to participate in Black Friday Shopping. We don’t spend a lot of money, or any money sometimes. The purchases are planned and plotted (checking all the sale ads) well in advance and are sometimes made to donate to a school, church etc. I say all this because I know today is also Buy Nothing Day and while I certainly agree with the spirit of the day I’m not going to give up a tradition with my mom.

See we enjoy the one on one time and the chance to get out when Christmas decorations are first (or used to be) on display. We get up early and will hang out with perfect strangers making friends as we wait for the stores to open. After a couple hours we’ll go out and get breakfast and then call it a day. I know there are a ton of other activities that we could participate in and still enjoy each other’s company and the holiday season but we are both attached. Greening up my life is a series of small steps that has added up to some big changes but I’m nowhere near perfect and this is one example of that. Instead of giving this up I want to find ways to make it more sustainable. Since we never go all out and buy a bunch of stuff that isn’t a concern. I don’t need to purchase anything and my mom only has a couple things to get. In addition to big box stores tons of smaller “main street” stores offer sales today and you can find some amazing stuff. It’s not like you can’t purchase locally and sustainably because it’s Black Friday.

What we will change this year is our breakfast plans. J. won’t be participating in any early morning shopping so he’s in charge of cooking. I found a recipe for Buttermilk Blueberry Waffles that got great reviews and it uses stuff that we already have on hand.

Ingredients:

  1. 1 cup all-purpose flour
  2. 1 cup whole wheat flour
  3. 1 teaspoon baking powder
  4. 1 teaspoon baking soda
  5. 1 teaspoon salt
  6. 1-2 teaspoon sugar
  7. 2 large eggs, beaten
  8. 4 tablespoons butter, melted
  9. 2 cups buttermilk
  10. 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  11. 1 cup fresh blueberries

Preparation as follows:

  1. In a mixing bowl, mix flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar.
  2. Add in the eggs, buttermilk, melted butter and vanilla.
  3. Gently fold in blueberries.
  4. Spray waffle iron with Pam.
  5. Pour approximately 1 cup of batter onto a preheated waffle iron.
  6. Cook until steaming stops and waffles are nicely browned and crisp.

About two-thirds of the ingredients are local and those that aren’t are organic. We also have local bacon and eggs to round out the meal. Even if you aren’t going out shopping this is a nice breakfast for guests.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2008 9:09 am

    Happy day after! Those waffles look amazing!

  2. November 28, 2008 1:15 pm

    This recipe sounds delicious! I think I’ll make it Christmas morning. Mr Chiots and I always make sure we have Christmas morning to ourselves at home. We wake up, make waffles and eat them on the couch in our pj’s while watching vintage James Bond. Each year I try a different recipe, I’ll be trying yours this year! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

