Skip to content

Where’s the Turkey?

November 27, 2008

Our Thanksgiving buffet, originally uploaded by eugene.

 

I’m not sure how many people will be cruising the internet today but I’ve been on a rolling so I figured I should keep it going. I’m excited to spend the day in a warm kitchen cooking and hanging out with my family. This year will be our first cooking a heritage turkey so I went in search of some simple recipes to follow. I didn’t want a lot of ingredients or steps since I still have a lot of other dishes to complete and I want to make sure I can taste the unique flavor of the heritage turkey.

I found this recipe which uses the giblets which I would otherwise chuck out in the trash and maple syrup which I can get locally.

Ingredients:

– 9-pound fresh heritage turkey at room temperature
– Kosher or sea salt & fresh ground pepper
– 4 cups giblet broth (see recipe below)
– Rosemary Maple Butter (see recipe below)
– Oiled parchment paper (I’ll be using wax paper since that’s all I have)

Preparations:

  1. Rub turkey inside and out with salt and pepper.
  2. Loosen the skin around the breast with your fingers and insert Rosemary Maple Butter between the meat and the skin as well as on the inside of the bird’s cavity.
  3. Set bird in deep roasting pan. Use a wire rack to lift the bird off the bottom of the pan.
  4. Add the giblet broth to the bottom of the pan. Using a sheet of oiled parchment paper, tent the roasting pan with the oiled parchment paper. Any type of cooking oil can be used. Brush it on both sides with a pastry brush. The parchment paper is easily affixed to the roasting pan with a strip of foil on each end or you can use clean, oiled wooden clothespins. Remove parchment paper and the last 30 minutes of cooking to develop a crispy, golden skin.
  5. Pre-heat oven to 425F-450F. Roast the bird until the thigh temperature reaches 140F-150F. Let the bird rest 10-15 minutes before carving to let the juices settle.

Giblet Broth
– 2 cups white wine
– 2 cups water
– Giblets & neck
– Bay leaf
Simmer everything in a small saucepan for 15 minutes. Discard bay leaf and neck. Giblets can be discarded if they aren’t your type of thing or they can be finely chopped and added to the broth.

Rosemary Maple Butter
– 1/2½ pound butter
– 1/2½ cup pure maple syrup
– 1 tablespoon fresh minced rosemary
Bring butter to room temperature and whip all ingredients together.

I don’t have the patience to wait until 5 or 6pm to eat so we’ll have our big meal at lunch and the graze on leftovers for the rest of the day.

I hope you all have a wonderful day!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

