Skip to content

Pumpkin Spice Cake

November 25, 2008


Heirloom Pumpkins, originally uploaded by amoraleda.

I (N.) like pumpkin in cookies, waffles, cakes, muffins, breads etc but I don’t like it in pie or in bars. I just don’t like the consistency of pumpkin puree on its own. My mom would make pumpkin bread to snack on until the turkey was ready and cheesecake or white cake with buttercream frosting (or both) was our usual dessert.

Since I get to choose what’s on the menu I’m going to make a pumpkin cake. I would make bread because I have a spiced pumpkin bread recipe I LOVE! But I have a loaf of gingerbread already made that I can defrost and save myself some effort. I was going to use this White Chip Pumpkin Spice Cake because it is AMAZING! Unfortunately it uses premade spice cake mix as one of the key ingredients and I’m doing a made from scratch holiday. I suppose I could find a spice cake recipe, use those dry ingredients and then mix in the wet ingredients from the White Chip recipe but while searching for a recipe I came across a pumpkin spice cake that sounds quite good.

You can find the recipe for the Pumpkin Spice Cake here and the corresponding Pumpkin Creamcheese Frosting here. The recipes are pretty straight foward and I’m only planning on a couple modifications. I won’t have fresh nutmeg, so regular ground will have to do and oranges aren’t exactly local so I’ll have to figure that one out but I’ll let you know.

What’s your holiday dessert of choice?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2008 9:28 am

    Check out this pumpkin spice cake. I found this recipe and I’ll hopefully be making it later today or tomorrow. I have to roast up some pumpkins first!

    http://www.KNIVESCOOKSLOVE.COM/the_art_and_soul_of_bakin/2008/10/pumpkin-spice-party-cake.html

  2. badhuman permalink*
    November 25, 2008 2:15 pm

    Oh that maple cream cheese frosting looks really good! I can’t wait to hear how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

