Skip to content

Can Free Baked Beans

November 24, 2008

We didn’t eat any Boston Baked Beans…just took pics, originally uploaded by Hootyhoorosie.

I (N.) don’t think baked beans grace a lot of Thanksgiving tables but everytime my mom cooked she made these so I’m kind of attached. Of course she always used a can, funny seeing how she grew up on farm and learned to cook from scratch but it certainly makes everything go faster to use canned goods.

I couldn’t find a recipe that exactly matches what I’m looking for and the Bush’s family certainly isn’t sharing their secrets. Instead I found this recipe for Boston Baked Beans. I lived in Boston for four years and never got a chance to try these for real (the candy pictured above is quite good though) so I figured I’d give it a whirl. I already have most of the ingredients and with a four plus star rating and 146 reviews chances are this recipe will be a hit.

Ingredients:

  1. 2 cups navy beans
  2. 1/2 pound bacon
  3. Don’t tell my mom she doesn’t eat pork

  4. 1 onion, finely diced
  5. 3 tablespoons molasses
  6. 2 teaspoons salt
  7. 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  8. 1/4 teaspoon dry mustard
  9. 1/2 cup ketchup
  10. 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  11. 1/4 cup brown sugar

Preparation as follows:

  1. Soak beans overnight in cold water. Simmer the beans in the same water until tender, approximately 1 to 2 hours. Drain and reserve the liquid.
  2. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
  3. Arrange the beans in a 2 quart bean pot or casserole dish by placing a portion of the beans in the bottom of dish, and layering them with bacon and onion.
  4. In a saucepan, combine molasses, salt, pepper, dry mustard, ketchup, Worcestershire sauce and brown sugar. Bring the mixture to a boil and pour over beans. Pour in just enough of the reserved bean water to cover the beans. Cover the dish with a lid or aluminum foil.
  5. Bake for 3 to 4 hours in the preheated oven, until beans are tender. Remove the lid about halfway through cooking, and add more liquid if necessary to prevent the beans from getting too dry.

I’ve never made anything from dried beans before, I kind of have a phobia. When I was a teenager my stepmom made chili from dried beans and while I didn’t eat any the rest of the family had an adverse tummy reactions to put it politely. I realize it wasn’t necessarily the beans but she never used dried beans again.

I’m sure it will be fine, right?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2008 3:39 pm

    Sounds delicious! I always make mine from scratch. Occationally I cheat and buy Bush’s beans when I’m in a hurry or forgot to soak the beans (I like that they don’t have HFCS in them).

  2. November 24, 2008 7:32 pm

    My husband and I only ever cook with dried beans. Be sure to soak them overnight (a dollop of yogurt in the water supposedly helps, though I’m not sure why), and drain and rinse the beans at least once during the boiling process to get rid of the tummy-upsetting acids.

  3. November 24, 2008 8:36 pm

    mmm…saw your thanksgiving menu on TWFD- how do you make white chocolate chip pumpkin cake!!??? that sounds soooo good!

Trackbacks

  1. Best recipes from around the web » Can Free Baked Beans « Bad Human! Don’t take chemicals from strangers!

Leave a Reply

