Skip to content

Images of a Green Wedding

November 21, 2008

I’m (N.) a little lacking in inspiration today and some of my green wedding posts have been very popular so I thought I’d share some photos of our day. For those planning a wedding you can see what we did, why it was green, and how it all came together. For everyone else enjoy some pretty pics.

DSC_0084

This picture is from the rehearsal but we didn’t add any decorations for the day of the wedding. We chose to get married in a garden for a simple, natural look.

IMG_1804

No fancy new shoes for us! We wanted comfortable so I wore a pair of flip flops and J opted for his converse sneakers.

IMG_1823

I LOVED my dress!

IMG_1818

I bought it used on Ebay and once it gets cleaned I’m selling it on there again. I hope a long line of women get the joy of wearing this dress. That’s a much better fate than collecting dust in a closet.

100_0877

We had the cake topper custom made by a lady I found on Ebay. I think most people know that you can find a whole slew of crafters on Etsy but many started on Ebay and still sell custom work through Ebay. We kept the cake simple but I think it still looks fun with the wonky style vines. The base was done by my father. I got the idea from Martha Stewart. I guess you could buy one of these but my Dad just went out to one of the tree stumps on our land and lopped this off. Then he apparently shalacked the heck out of it :). I like the look of the bark complete with some green moss.

IMG_1883

We had very few cut flowers. Basically my bouquet, the bouts, corsages, and the cake flowers. The centerpieces were custom made lollipops. They were all natural and a big hit! We also decorated the table with soy votive candles in little glass “flowerpots.” Simple and elegant we were quite happy with the affect. You can see some other ideas for “green” centerpieces here.

This is a just a couple of things we did, unfortunately I’m traveling and don’t have access to the professional shots but now I’m inspired to do another post about this 🙂 Many of our choices were made as much for the cost saving as the green factor but it’s nice to know they can go hand in hand and you don’t need $20,000 to have a nice wedding!

If you are looking ways to green your own wedding registry check out this post what we did.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2008 9:06 am

    Agreed! Mr Chiots and I had a pretty green wedding 10 years ago (I can’t believe it’s been that long).

    We had a small wedding with only real flowers for bouquets. We made the food ourselves and had minimal decor. We only spent $2000 total on the day, but it was perfect and in the end we were married just the same as if we had spent $20,000.

    They funny thing is that now we’re professional wedding videographers and every weekend we’re filming events that cost upwards of $100,000 and some that cost a quarter of a million. It’s amazing how much waste there is at these event. We have only done one small tasteful wedding where the bride spent most of her money on a local meal, free-range local chickens and organic veggies. The wedding industry could definitely use a little greening. At least our part of the wedding is pretty green, we try to be as green as possible at our office.

  2. November 21, 2008 10:14 pm

    ooohhhh – love it.
    can’t wait to see more pics.

  3. knutty knitter permalink
    November 22, 2008 6:30 pm

    We went local for our wedding (14 years ago). We used candles on the tables too with a small surround of ivy and two or three miniature roses all from our own gardens and on saucers from the kitchen. We hired local linen tablecloths and crockery, glasses and cutlery and a friend did the catering for us.

    I wore a cream skirt (long) and top and dh had a suit from the recycle shop. I think both outfits together cost us around $200 and we both used them again several times (separate for me – the top was really nice).

    I think the most expensive thing was the band but it was worth it.

    Expense doesn’t lead to a great wedding – people do!

    viv in nz

  4. Bethany Kandel permalink
    December 18, 2008 9:15 pm

    N: I’d love to talk to you…I’m writing an article for the NYTimes on brides buying their dresses secondhand on eBay and the like and I loved your comment about a long line of women enjoying the dress just like you!! Would you contact me directly ASAP!!! Appreciate it.

  5. January 10, 2009 6:20 pm

    I adore your wedding dress, cake and choice of shoes for you and your groom. You are a lovely couple! Thanks for sharing your photos with us!

Trackbacks

  1. Green Wedding Tips- Potted Centerpieces « Bad Human! Don’t take chemicals from strangers!

Leave a Reply

