Skip to content

Tiny Stitches

November 15, 2008


Doll Quilt Swap I: received, originally uploaded by losabia.

I (N.) have a confession to make- I’ve broken one of my green promises. J. and I made a deal that we wouldn’t start any new projects before finishing the ones we are currently working on. Even though I really want to learn to knit a sock I promised I would finish the baby quilt. Well first I broke this promise when I purchased a bunch of fabric for other baby quilts (fabric stores our dangerous, even more so when they are having great sales!) so I suppose it’s not all that suprising that I started a new baby quilt before I finished my quilt kit.

In my defense I want to have two more baby quilts done before Christmas to donate them in my parents names as their Christmas presents. At the rate I’m going it will take a couple weeks to finish hand quilting the border on my current quilt. Piecing and stiching in the ditch went relatively quickly but now that I’m out in the wild white yonder of the border things are going slower. I have to pay very close attention to my stitching which requires lots of light (ie daylight) and time. It’s easier for me to do piecing at night so its not like I’d be working on the other quilt anyway. Have I convinced you to forgive me yet :)?

I will say that hand quilting isn’t as hard as I thought it would be though it does require lots of work. I’m fairly proud of my stitching though I won’t be showing any pictures of it. I think it would be faster and easier to create a quilt using a sewing machine but hand quilting means more to me. I really feel there is part of me in it.

I will also advise any new quilters to stay out of fabric stores, there is simply too much temptation! I way over purchased a couple weeks ago and I’ll probably end up trying to freecycle it or sell it on Craigslist. From now I want to make sure I buy what I need, use it up and then move on. I’m always going to end up with scraps and I’ll keep them to create a really scrappy quilt. But just like anything else in life I don’t want to end up with a bunch of stuff that is simply taking up space.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 15, 2008 9:39 am

    I agree. I love to sew, so I used to buy tons of fabric. I had a bunch of fabric in the basement and finally just went through it to get rid of a bunch. Hobbies can quickly spiral into clutter if you aren’t careful!

Leave a Reply

