Skip to content

Plastic Wrapped High Fructose Corn Syrup

October 28, 2008

I (N.) was talking to my neighbor last week and she asked if I was going to be giving out candy on Halloween. I suppose I could have used this as an opportunity to express my views on passing out plastic wrapped high fructose corn syrup and calling it a holiday but I didn’t. I barely know the woman and didn’t want to get into this discussion on the sidewalk. Instead I told her the truth which was I would be traveling and thus couldn’t participate. She had wanted to warn me that children are bused to our neighborhood to get candy. At first I thought it was good that kids can get taken to a neighborhood that is safe and amenable to candy giving. Then I learned that 200+ kids get bused to our neighborhood in addition to the 100+ kids that actually live in our neighborhood. So in theory I’m supposed to shell out to get 300-400 kids candy. Parents won’t let kids take fruit like apples because it isn’t wrapped and raisin boxes are likely to end up littering the street so…

What are you giving out for Halloween this year? Or are you opting not to participate at all?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2008 8:10 am

    Luckily we don’t have kids that come to our home. We live in a gated community and the kids all get driven around on golf carts, we live in a house off to itself so kids don’t bother stopping since it’s not quick candy. In our area all the towns schedule trick-or-treat on a different night so kids can go to all the surrounding communities. What a crock. Last it was on the 21st in our town and during the day. It seems weird to me. Our friends that live in town don’t pass out because it makes them mad.

    My mom was always the mom that handed out raisins & healthy food. Now she buys tons and tons of the good candy to hand out.

  2. Bob permalink
    November 5, 2008 1:57 am

    Plastic wrapped high fructose corn syrup. Do I need to remind you of the Halloween decorating, pumpkin carving, and candy eating days of college? If there weren’t crazy people out there sticking razor blades in things, they’d be more likely to take apples.

Leave a Reply

