Skip to content

The Many Uses of Half n Half

October 26, 2008


Thumbs up, originally uploaded by Marvin Kuo.

I can’t remember how half’n’half found its way into our fridge but there is about 1/2 gallon of it. I believe we needed less than a cup but the only container J. could find was 1/2 gallon so… I’ve been trying to get rid of it before it expires but we just don’t drink that much coffee. In the spirit of lessening our waste I decided to see what else I could stick half n half into.

One of our recipes this week was meatloaf (it’s pretty much the best meatloaf ever) and J. wanted to complement it with potatoes. Since milk usually goes into mashed potatoes I thought our half’n’half would be perfect and it was. Somewhere between milk and cream it gave the potatoes a depth of flavor without being too rich. We also make our mashed potatoes skin on. In addition to saving time it also eliminates all those wasted nutrients ending up in the landfill. According to the Wise Geek “The potato, as well as the potato skin, is a great source of vitamin C, vitamin B6, copper, potassium, manganese, and dietary fiber. Potatoes and potato skins contain 18% of the recommended daily allowance of iron and 7.5 grams of protein which is rarely found in vegetables in such high concentrations. Potato skins also contain a variety of phytonutrients which are a natural source of antioxidants that help to prevent cellular deterioration of the body.” I’m sure our worms would have appreciated all those things to but we are too selfish to share šŸ™‚

While half’n’half works well in mashed potatoes it does NOT work in oatmeal. Here the added fat and flavor becomes overkill. I can’t stand oatmeal made with water so I always use milk. I thought adding half’n’half would add a little bit more creaminess and it may if you used less then I did… I have a sweet tooth and I like rich foods but it was a struggle to finish my bowl.

Any other suggestions?

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 26, 2008 8:07 am

    Half & half would be great in a pumpkin pie instead of the evaporated milk. You could also use it in homemade bread to make a rich dough, cinnamon rolls anyone? You could also make a batch of homemade ice cream, that would be Mr Chiot’s choice use for it.

    I have found at our house that we have tons of buttermilk all the time (we buy raw milk from a local farm and make our own butter, so each week I have over pint of buttermilk to use up). I now use it in muffins, bread, and anything that calls for milk. Bread is particularly delicious made with buttermilk. I occasionally make buttermilk cheese (similar to cream cheese). You can also make buttermilk ice cream.

    It’s amazing how you find ways to use up things when you’re committed to being less wasteful! (we also eat potato skins) Anything we don’t eat, freezer burnt venison, beet greens, peach skins, etc all get made into big batches of dog food that the Chiots LOVES. Saves us tons of money on dog food (we only buy Wellness brand) and I’m sure it’s healthier for her, and it is much less wasteful.

Leave a Reply

