Skip to content

Definition of Affluence

October 9, 2008


My Favorite Advertisement, originally uploaded by pandoraice.

Recently as I was cruising the internet I came upon a graphic for APLS. It’s getting pretty common on the blogs I read and it stands for affluent people living sustainably. But it made me wonder what exactly does affluent mean. And perhaps more importantly what does it mean to them. According to the Merriam Webster Online Dictionary affluent means flowing in abundance or having a generously sufficient and typically increasing supply of material possessions. To see what this group of individuals mean by affluence I read their welcome message and was actually a bit more confused. This isn’t a blog per se but rather it exists to host a blog carnival on “living sustainably in an affluent society.” So is this about affluent individuals or an affluent society?

I agree that I live in an affluent society although the flow of abundance only goes to certain groups. But do I think I’m an affluent person? And why does it matter? Shouldn’t we all regardless of our level of material wealth struggle to be more green. Is the implication that if you have more money that it’s more noble to be “green” or is it that with greater wealth comes larger responsibility to be green. I read many of these blogs and I don’t think of that any of them think they are better or more important then anyone else. I think that the implication is that the more we have, the more we can do. Its a rehash of the old adage that says to whom much is given, much is expected.

UPDATE: I started this post a couple days ago and couldn’t find a coherent way to finish it since I had so many thoughts rushing through my head but as I was reading One Green Generation today I realized the post has been done more intelligently then I could have written it. Please check out this link to the rest of a discussion regarding affluence what it means and how to integrate that concept into the green movement.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 17, 2008 6:50 pm

    Good point about the APLS! Check out LOHAS, too.

Leave a Reply

