Skip to content

Crafting in the Post Apocalyptic World

October 5, 2008


quilting birds in hoop, originally uploaded by peskybombolino.

Inspiration seems to be alluding me (N.) me today. J. and I spent the day working on separate craft projects and cleaning up the basement. In preparation for spring planting I wanted to organize our various soils, tools and containers so I know what else we are going to need. I also really needed to liberate and separate our aloe vera plant from it’s too small container. It had grown into two distinct plants that while ambivalent about being yanked apart at the roots seem happier to be in larger individual containers. That done we will be cruising for the next couple months where gardening is concerned.

In the mean time J. and I are both exploring some new hobbies. While a lot of people blog about gardening or canning or cooking you don’t hear a lot of people taking about crafting in the peak oil world. As goods become more scarce not only are we going to have to be able to fix what we got and grow what we need we also need to be able to create things like blankets that may be in short supply.

I’ve been crocheting for a couple years now but have only completed two baby blankets and one twin size blanket. This is probably because I have mastered TWO different stitches so I get bored really easily and yarn is incredibly expensive. I’d like to learn to knit socks and knit or crochet hats and mittens because I think that would be useful and fun but what I really want to learn right now is to quilt. How cool would it be to create something like the picture above? In fact that’s why I finished the second baby blanket today. J. and I made a deal that we couldn’t start any new projects before we finish the one we are working on now. This has worked well with kitchen projects and keeps our house from looking like a construction zone. It also meant we were both focused on projects today instead of vegging out on the couch.

I finally finished the baby blanket intended for Matilda, I then ordered a very cute baby quilt kit as penance for being WAY late in completing the blanket. It’s also to make amends for the fact that I had to finish the blanket with a white yarn as opposed to the green and white combo that makes up most of the blanket. Oddly enough I think it looks better with the white edge but it wouldn’t have been necessary if I had bought all the yarn at once.

On the other hand J. has finally opened the his bow making kit. Costing over $300 I was quite happy to see it finally being put to use. That is until we went to the hardware store and he prefaced the trip by saying the materials he still needed wouldn’t cost $100’s. The implication was that it would cost $100-$200!! Thankfully plywood and some other materials were on sale so the total came in under $80 which isn’t as bad… We also have some leftover plywood we are going to use to build terraced shelves on our back patio to maximize space. J. is going to blog about his project in detail later but suffice it to say he now has grand plans for building and then hunting with his homemade bow.

What other skills are you learning or perfecting right now? What would you still like to learn?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2008 8:31 am

    ah…J in the city with a hunting bow? that seems like a bad plan. and i’m working on my little e-mail. i’ll get it out to you in a bit 🙂

  2. October 6, 2008 9:43 am

    I’ve been working on canning this year for my new hobby. I mastered the arts of cooking and sewing as a young girl, those are more winter hobbies for me.

    We have a family tradition for a homemade Christmas, only homemade gifts and only $10 can be spent on supplies per family, so that makes for some very beautiful and resoursefuly gifts. I LOVE the challenge. Last year I made pot holders for everyone with an old mattress pad and a bunch of clearance kitchen towels, they were a hit with several people asking if I could make them a few more!!!

    This year for Christmas I’m making reuseable shopping bags for all the ladies in my family, I’ll be using old curtains & sheets and any scraps I can get my hands on. I made a few for myself as “tests” and they’re so perfectly cute. I get compliments on them everywhere I go. Can’t wait for people to open them this Christmas.

  3. alliesanswers permalink
    October 6, 2008 7:53 pm

    I’m really interested in sewing and quilting lately. i’d like to give new life to our old clothes and sheets. I did love to knit, but the price of yard really is a deterrent.

  4. knutty knitter permalink
    October 7, 2008 6:49 pm

    I love quilting. But do think outside the square… scraps are far more interesting and individual than kits. I only allow myself one pattern new piece per article and the occasional top up of plains. Get one, really good book of blocks and you should be set for ever.

    Two winters back I made a velvet number with velvet, upholstery offcuts, corduroy and one piece of bought curtain velvet. There were four generations worth of bits in that quilt and they nearly all have a known history.

    So grandma’s armchair is rubbing shoulders with sister’s winter shirt and great-grandma’s best dress.

    viv in nz

Leave a Reply

