Skip to content

Anti Apple Pie

September 12, 2008


Plethora of Pies, originally uploaded by abbyladybug.

I (N.) know that there are probably people that will think I’m crazy but I don’t like pie. In particular I don’t like fruit pies because it’s too much fruit. I don’t like the flavors or the consistency so J. thought something was wrong when I requested an apple hand pie as my birthday dessert.

Normally I’m a cake girl. I LOVE cake but I just wasn’t in the mood. I was cruising through my blogs and found a recipe for Bourbon Peach Hand Pies over at Smitten Kitchenand I couldn’t resist it (well except for the whole peaches part because I don’t like those either). Instead I asked J. to use the apples that we had gotten in Lancaster County a week or so ago and then he decided to add some amaretto instead of bourbon. Apparently neither J. or I have a concept on how many apples makes a certain weight because he cut enough apples for three batches.

The first came out nice but the sour cream was to strong of a flavor against the apples. It isn’t the dough that’s the problem rather it was the apple filling wasn’t sweet enough to balance the two. The second time around the apples had been siting for a day and could really absorb the liquid. In the second batch the filling was sweeter and gooier and I think they were nearly perfect.

The hand pies do take awhile what with all the chilling involved but you can certainly do other things while the dough is in the fridge. And while I would usually try to cut corners with time consuming things like multiple chillings they really are important. Unless the dough is really cold, it’s a total pain to try and roll out- it will stick to everything. I would definitely be liberal with the flour on your work surface and rolling pin if I was you. Another thing we tweaked was the egg wash. When you read the directions it says to add one egg yolk and two tbs of water but when you look at the pictures you can see the egg wash is very yellow. We added about a tsp of water to our egg wash and it didn’t look that yellow and the hand pies didn’t come out golden brown like Smitten’s so next time I would omit the water entirely. The recipe also says that you can freeze the dough for up to a month, we froze ours over night and let me warn you now that it will take the better part of a day to warm up enough to work with.

I really like this recipe and it could easily be adapted to any filling, the dough would do well with a savory filling even. Beware though they are seriously addictive. We made two batches and between the two of us we polished off each batch in a day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2008 7:55 am

    OOOOO, thanks for the review. I saw these when whe posted them and have been eyeing the pile of apples & pears I have. I think a pear/apple pie would be nice, perhaps with some cranberries for tartness.

  2. September 13, 2008 8:43 am

    I dont know if you have them in the US, but here in the UK we have something called Apple Turnovers – pastry casing with apple filling. Gorgeous. Also Danish Bear Claws (pastry encased berries and apple) are fab, halfway house between cake and pie.

Leave a Reply

