Skip to content

My Current Death Row Dinner

September 10, 2008


IMG_2174, originally uploaded by https://badhuman.wordpress.com.

I (J.) have heard that people sometimes play a game where they name their death row dinner; that is, the meal they’d have if it were to be their last on death row – as it is often the custom to give a condemned person their choice of meal just prior to their execution in the U.S.

It’s a little (or a lot) morose, I know, but it is an interesting topic of conversation. You might think that if someone were condemned and knew the hour – the second – that they were to die, that they might pick something elaborate, obscure, expensive or complicated. When I’ve played this game with people, more often than not, they choose something simple and familiar. Usually something that they had as children, perhaps something evocative of happier times; essentially, the ultimate comfort food.

For me, this meal is quite simple. Grilled cheese and green beans. That being said, if it were to come down to my last meal I certainly wouldn’t want Wonder Bread and velveeta, but some tasty homemade wheat bread with a thick crust, grilled in homemade butter and good colby cheese. Of course, I’d then want some really fresh green beans, steamed until just hot throughout, and some of that homemade butter with a little salt.

I made this for N. and I a few days ago, and it was wonderful. Truly the perfect grilled cheese, and some of the best green beans I’ve had. You know, one of those lunches that by which you measure all other lunches.

Now, I understand that I’m pretty picky when it comes to my last meal. However, if it were your last what would you want, and wouldn’t you want it to be perfect?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2008 9:29 pm

    MMMM, I think the same thing I always chose for my b-day dinner when I was young (although a little more cuisine & green now).

    Chicken & Dumplings: free-range chicken, homegrown carrots & peas in a white wine & romano broth topped with freshly ground local wheat dumplings (with romano & freshly grated pepper baked in) add a little fresh lemon thyme to the sauce after you fish out the dumplings at it’s heaven.

    I wonder if they could whip this up in prison? Not that I’m planning on being on death row ever.

  2. September 11, 2008 10:52 am

    Aw…I think mine would have to be platefuls of noodles and sushi/sashimi

Leave a Reply

