Skip to content

Organic Neon Orange Cheese

August 31, 2008

IMG_1905, originally uploaded by https://badhuman.wordpress.com.

One of my (N.) guilty pleasures has always been Kraft Mac & Cheese. I realize that it isn’t really mac and cheese and that in addition so pushing cheese color into the neon spectrum it really has little nutritional value but I still love it! When we started eating healthier I tried baked mac and cheese but it is too gooey and cheesy and I just don’t really like it. Instead I just gave up on macaroni and cheese when we ate the last box that we had lurking in the cupboard. Every once in awhile I still crave it and have contemplated trying Alton Brown’s Stovetop Mac & Cheese because it would have more of the consistency of Kraft but we haven’t gotten around to it. If anyone has tried it please let us know. 

So I could hardly resist this small box sitting on the shelf a couple weeks ago at the store. Now give me some credit, “organic” or not I realize it still isn’t that good for me and its incredibly over processed but I wanted to give it a shot. As you can see the box is pretty standard and it is USDA certified organic… Inside you still have the macaroni and the cheese packet and the instructions are the same. The measurements however are not and I’m not sure why. For the traditional you use 1/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup butter in the organic version you use a couple tbs. of each and end up with a grainy texture from the cheese not really mixing in. It was really the major detractor from this recipe since I know of no one that wants to eat powdered cheese clumps. 

In case you were wondering the powdered cheese is a more off white color versus the neon orange although once incorporated you still get an overall orange color. The ingredients listed in order on the packet are “Organic whey, organic skim milk, organic cheddar cheese (cultured pasteurized organic milk, salt, enzymes (non-animal)), salt, organic cornstarch, yeast extract, annatto (color).” Not sure how that compares to the list in regular Kraft but there it is none the less 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2008 7:35 pm

    I just learned more about Mac & Cheese now than when I was a kid…great post!

    What about the packaging? Does organic Kraft Mac & Cheese come in recycled-material box with less chemicals? Wait…that would make those noodles more expensive.

    Regards,
    Sustaino
    http://www.sustaino.blogspot.com

  2. Bob permalink
    September 26, 2008 11:32 pm

    EW!EW!EW! I haven’t eaten that awful stuff since we lived together.

Leave a Reply

