Skip to content

38 mpg in a SUV (going 60mph in 75mph world)

June 23, 2008

I (N.) haven’t talked about it much here but I LOVE my Ford Escape Hybrid. I know many people would argue that any type of SUV isn’t very green but it fits my needs perfectly while still being easier on the environment and my wallet!

I bought the 2008 last June so I didn’t qualify for any sort of rebate, in fact I had to go through four different dealerships before I found one that would even order one for me. None of the dealerships in NC carried them and none of them were even willing to order one for me- bastards! I ended up ordering it from the Ford Dealer by my Dad in VA. Being the typical small town dealership they were happy to order the exact car that I wanted and only required a $500 deposit. Since this was my second car and I am hoping it will last 10 plus years I went all out. I bought the four wheel drive (because Colorado winters virtually require it), the built in navigation system, and satellite radio. I also got a regular plug. I know this sounds weird but it means I can plug anything in and charge it without having to buy separate car chargers for my phone, camera, etc.

It took 6 weeks to get the car in and it was love at first sight. I had never seen one in person before ordering it but I had done extensive online research. I knew I wanted something that had cargo room since I move around a lot and something that could go off road and handle grueling winters since I was moving to Colorado and I like that most hybrids still offer ten years warranties on the electric engine. I also opted for the prepaid service plan so I don’t have to pay for any maintenance for the next four years. Total with tax and title it was $32,000 which is significantly more then the regular Ford Escape but since I could afford it I figured I should do it. Now with gas at $4.00 plus I’m quite happy to have paid more up front. The tax credit also got me about $3,000 back on my taxes so that was nice too.

One of the first things I did after buying a hybrid was research hypermiling. It’s become a whole subculture of people dedicated to getting the most gas mileage out of any car. There are those that purport to get 100 mpg on Accords! Personally I think those people are a bit to intense for me but by practicing some of the hypermiling techniques I’ve been able to get almost 40 mpg on a car that is estimated to get 30 mpg highway and 32 mpg in the city.

The basic techniques are:

1. Stop speeding: The harder you press the gas pedal, the more gas you’re using. If you’re driving over the speed limit, you might save time, but you’re definitely wasting gas and money. Slow down a little if you can so that you’re driving at or just below the actual speed limit. (This is big I got 38 mpg by only going 60 mph on the highway instead of the 75 mph speed limit. Yes it felt weird but it didn’t take me all the much longer and since I wasn’t worried about getting somewhere RIGHT NOW I was calmer and enjoyed the drive more)

2. Coast instead of braking: When you see a stop sign up ahead or a traffic light turning yellow, immediately take your foot off the gas and let your vehicle slow down by itself. If you wait until the last possible minute to brake, then you’re wasting all the gas you used when you could have been slowing down. (In a hybrid the energy created by braking is harnessed to power the electric engine but I still try to brake as little as possible. It drives the people behind me nuts though…)

3. Cruise Control: The feathering of your foot on the gas pedal that naturally occurs wastes more gas. By putting in on cruise control the car can use the gas more economically while still going the desired speed but you still have to go slower to see any real gas savings.

4. Put your car in neutral: Coasting with your car in neutral takes the burden off your gas pedal preventing you from wasting fuel. If you’re not driving in heavy traffic, experiment with this effective money saver. ( I don’t do this because I just don’t like the idea. The nice thing about having a hybrid is that I don’t need to because in bumper to bumper traffic the electric engine will pretty much take over.)

5. Lighten the load: The heavier your car is, the harder it has to work to propel itself forward. Empty out your trunk and backseat of ice chests, beach chairs, and other items that you’re not using to lighten the load. (I don’t keep anything in the car that I won’t need that day. It took a lot of thought at first but now my car is cleaner and lighter. The only exception is in the winter I keep a snow shovel.)

6. Drafting: This technique comes with a warning sign: according to many hypermiling experts, it is incredibly dangerous. A “deliberate form of tailgating,” the forced auto stop involves turning off your car’s engine and then following closely behind the vehicle in front of you “in order to take advantage of the reduced wind resistance in [the other car’s] immediate wake.” (Yeah… I don’t do this either. You can draft without turning the engine off but getting that close to a semi freaks me out. You would have very little reaction time if something were to happen.)

7. Find a route that’s easy on your vehicle: A story in the Washington Post discusses the benefits of “optimiz[ing] your route” when implementing hypermiling tricks. Instead of taking the scenic route to work, which could include more hills, twists, and dips, try finding a route that features level roads and less traffic lights or stop signs. Generally, “a longer route with better driving conditions” can use “less gas.” (I’m lucky that the ride to work doesn’t involve many stoplight or hills right now.)

8. Roll down the windows if you’re not on the highway: After the scorching hot temperatures of the summer have retreated, stop blasting the air conditioner and roll down your windows. According to Drive.com.au, “It is generally accepted that air-conditioning increases fuel consumption by about 10 percent but winding down the windows increases drag, which is also an enemy of good fuel consumption.” If you’re going to be on the highway, keeping your A/C on low is still a good idea, but if you’re taking a joy ride, think about getting a little fresh air. (This one is hard for me because I cannot stand to be hot, but I do it… most of the time…)

9. Don’t leave the car running: People used to believe it was better to keep the car running for really short errands but it just wastes gas.

10. Keep up with maintenance- obviously a well tuned car will run more efficiently. But make sure you look at your cars maintenance schedule. If you go to a place like Jiffy Lube they will tell you to get an oil change every 3,500 miles but that may not be true. My hybrid only needs an oil change every 10,000 miles.

11. Check your tire pressure and tire balance: Tires that are beginning to lose air and go flat put more stress on your engine, making it work harder and burn more fuel. If your tires aren’t balanced correctly, you could end up wearing out certain tires faster than others, causing them to lose air and forcing your engine to work harder.

Some techniques are easier then others, for me slowing down is hard but I find by keeping the fuel consumption screen up on my hybrid I am more motivated to slow down because I get instant and constant feedback on my fuel consumption. Gas-Electric Hybrids aren’t the best solution but paired with walking and biking I think J. and I have found a decent balance. It also doesn’t hurt our Riot numbers that we are selling our Xterra today. Goodbye gas guzzling SUV that can fit an entire armchair and footstool in your cargo area. We will miss cruising down the beach in you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2008 3:34 pm

    Good tips – thanks for sharing! I’ve been eyeing the Escape hybrid too. I feel the same way – is it kind of silly to buy an SUV in a hybrid? But we live in the mountains of Colorado and we really DO need an SUV in the winter.

  2. June 24, 2008 6:02 am

    Cool…lots of info here today…I had heard about hypermiling, but silly me, obsessing about my animals, I didn’t really know what it was yet. I’m like you, though, there are a few of those techniques that I will never try! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Green Travel- Transportation « Bad Human! Don’t take chemicals from strangers!

Leave a Reply

