Skip to content

Pollo en Fuego!

June 6, 2008

chicken on fire

Last night, N. and I realized that we’d run out of menu for the week, which sucked. Fortunately, we did have a couple chicken breasts hangin’ out in the freezer, so I (J.) searched frantically for something to do with these little guys.

I ran a few things past N., and we picked BBQ. That narrowed it down (some), and we did have some sauce in the fridge, lingering. However, I was in the mood for something a little… umm… a lot, spicier.

I found a dry rub and a sauce recipe. They were both really easy, and both really hot. Actually, I think they were both hot as a rule, but I decided to make them even hotter. Something that I did later regret.

Sauce:

1 c. ketchup
2 cloves crushed garlic
1 t. italian spice
1-2 t. mustard
1 t. HP or Worchestershire sauce
dash balsamic vinegar
several dashes of tabasco sauce
honey (to taste)
ground black pepper
splash of beer

Put everything in a jar and shake it.

These measurements are only guidelines and can be adjusted to taste.

I didn’t add the beer, and I don’t think that (unless it were a really strong flavor) it would have added all that much. I also added a lot more hot sauce, and that probably could have flavored the entire meal with that alone.

If you choose to make this sauce, I would recommend stopping your seasoning there (i.e.: read not further).

Dry Rub:

1 tablespoon ground black pepper
1 tablespoon ground white pepper
1 tablespoon sugar
2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 tablespoon chili powder
1 tablespoon ground cumin
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 tablespoon ground oregano
4 tablespoon paprika (the sweet kind — not the hot kind)
1 teaspoon dry mustard
1 tablespoon celery salt
1 tablespoon salt

Thoroughly combine all ingredients. Rub mixture into the meat, wrap tightly with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 8 hours or overnight. Store leftover mixture in an airtight jar or in freezer.

I didn’t really pay all that much attention to the “storing of leftovers”, and I think that’s where I went wrong: putting the entire rub on two 1/4 pound chicken breasts. It was really, really hot. I also didn’t let the rub sink into the meat for very long (less than two hours), and that didn’t allow the rub to mellow out at all. It didn’t burn at all on the grill, though, which was nice, and I think that it’d go well on beef too.

Try these out on some meat this weekend, and let us know what you think.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 18, 2008 5:44 am

    How do you think this rub would go without the chilli and cayenne and a lot less pepper? Have you ever tried it like that? There’s no way our 10yo dd would eat something hot, but the rest of the ingredients sound like a good mix. Hmmmmm…

Leave a Reply

