Skip to content

Downtown Denver Aquarium

May 17, 2008

IMG_0972, originally uploaded by https://badhuman.wordpress.com.

I (N.) would like you to meet Scooter. He was a very accommodating iguana model who hangs outside the Downtown Denver Aquarium in the reptile petting zoo. He turned his head this way and that, moved forward and backward all the while constantly ensuring I was photographing his “good side.”

 

IMG_0974

IMG_0975

IMG_0981

IMG_0983

Since he was so accommodating I prefer the pictures of him to most of those that I took while we were actually in the aquarium. 

 IMG_0940

They didn’t all come out so-so. I’m particularly fond of the one above and below.

IMG_0887

What I didn’t understand really was why the Downtown Denver Aquarium had tigers.

IMG_0930

I suppose if they were rescued then it’s okay but I would prefer captivity to death or abuse but the animals must be miserable there. It’s not like one of the zoos that have large open areas that replicate their natural habitat this was a small enclosed space with fake plants and people constantly watching. During the hour or so we were there the tiger in the picture kept pacing from one end to another which was truly a sad sight. The other simply slept- they were both dealing with the crippling captivity in there own way I guess.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2008 11:59 pm

    The tigers in captivity make me so sad 😦 The pacing back and forth is clearly a sign of stress.

    I think about all the poor animals in captivities big and small. My kids love the zoo, so I take them there. But it breaks my heart every time I am at the zoo. The zoo we go to used to have a space of 200 ft by 100 ft for an elephant. An elephant! I was so happy when the elephant sanctuary too it away.

  2. May 22, 2008 1:19 am

    I love all your pictures. You are very talented with the camera. But the Iguana seems to be a true camera hound. Too funny!

  3. Bob permalink
    May 28, 2008 11:37 pm

    Someone told me they were rescues. I won’t swear to it, though.

  4. catherine permalink
    July 7, 2008 11:19 am

    No tigers in a aquarium – are you all mad?

Leave a Reply

