Skip to content

Swetsville Zoo

May 11, 2008

 

     

IMG_0686, originally uploaded by https://badhuman.wordpress.com.

 

Going through the interview process kind of reminds me of the picture above 🙂 But since J. and I were going to drive to the interview and we had never been to that town before I wanted to do a little exploring and we stumbled on the Swetville Zoo in Fort Collins.

The name is a bit deceiving because it isn’t really a zoo, rather it is a private collection of metal sculptures created from odds and ends and set up in what looks like a rather large backyard. All the houses have signs just in case you get confused.

It’s a really amazing place to walk around and there are a ton of sculptures handmade by a local man who has never had any welding or sculpting training and doesn’t charge people to walk through. He does ask for donations and should you get to visit I’m sure you too will be moved to donate whatever you have in your pocket.

IMG_0741

There are about 100 different sculptures in a variety of sizes but some of the coolest are those set up in little vignettes like the ant above.

IMG_0706

IMG_0723

There are a couple that only adults are going to get.

IMG_0684

IMG_0665

But most of them the whole family will enjoy and I highly recommend that you check it out if you are going to be in the area. If you are moved to try to do this at home he even offers a kit 🙂

IMG_0729

These are just some of the pictures that I took. Unfortunately my battery died and I wasn’t able to play with the various setting on the camera.. You can see the other pictures on my flickr account.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2008 5:32 pm

    Hi – I think I may have deleted a comment you left on my site, Throwback at Trapper Creek 😦
    Thanks for stopping by – I like your blog

  2. May 11, 2008 6:10 pm

    Looks like a really cool zoo! I like the dinosaur kit one!

  3. May 11, 2008 10:56 pm

    I love the ant peering out of the cooler!! Too funny!

    I am a big fan of sculpted or welded artwork. I think it is amazing how art evolves and opens doors for all kinds of artists!

    Blessings to you!
    Lacy

  4. May 12, 2008 11:41 pm

    Those sculptures look major cool. I love unusual art, unpretentious art. When I visit Fort Collins (we have a good friend there), I will have to check it out. Thanks for the post.

  5. ktee permalink
    November 12, 2008 4:34 pm

    just a minor correction…Swetsville Zoo is in TIMNATH, Co not in Fort Collins, Co.

Leave a Reply

