Skip to content

French Toast Sticks- No Deep Frying Necessary

May 11, 2008

 

   Red Maple leaf on Bracken Fern, originally uploaded by ER Post.

 

You know what I (J.) loved about elementary school? School lunches! While my parents were always trying to pawn off something “healthy” like an apple from the local orchards with a PB&J (that’s peanut butter and jelly) sandwich made fresh the morning it was to be consumed with a dime expressly for the purchase of a carton of milk, I was more keen to have one of the many varieties of often repeated meals prepared by the school district.

My favorites? Sloppy Joe’s were always near the top, but I would have to say my favorite was French Toast Sticks. Four little golden brown sweethearts, four inches by one inch by one inch. Prepared perhaps months in advance, but it didn’t really matter. The important thing was that all of that hydrogenated vegetable oil that they were deep fried in sealed in (what had been) bread in a crunchy shell, which somehow managed to absorb a little of the syrup which accompanied it.

All of that tasty goodness, and only 110 calories. Each. These days, I don’t think I’d touch those unless I had few other options, and I certainly wouldn’t do my children (if I had any) the dis-service of allowing them to eat those.

N. and I have come up with an alternative to those little, tiny slices of heaven, and they’re great. The best part about them is that, since we purchased most of the ingredients raw, we know what’s in them. Somehow, that makes them a little tastier.

We got this recipe from Joe at Culinary in the Country; a fun little blog with all kinds of good things to try.

We’ve made these twice, and they’ve been very good both times.

Without further ado:

3/4 cup milk
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 large eggs, lightly beaten
12 slices day-old white bread, each cut into thirds to form sticks
1 1/2 tablespoons butter, divided
confectioners’ sugar
additional pure maple syrup, if desired

In a shallow dish, whisk together milk, syrup, cinnamon, salt and eggs.

Melt half of the butter in a large skillet over medium heat.

Dip half of the bread slices into milk mixture, quickly turning to coat both sides. Remove from the milk mixture and place the slices into the pan. Cook until each side is lightly browned, about 2 to 4 minutes per side. Remove from the skillet and repeat with process with remaining butter, bread and the milk mixture.

Serve with confectioners’ sugar and warmed pure maple syrup.

Makes about 4 to 6 servings.

We used our cast iron skillet, and it seemed to want them to come out perfectly. If you have one, I recommend using it with these.

Give these a try, and let us know what you think.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2008 11:57 pm

    French toast — heaven! I like to add Tia Maria to mine. Yum!

    My husband calls them wannabe crepe suzettes.

    I like the leaf photo — gorgeous!

    Blessings!
    Lacy

  2. May 13, 2008 4:25 am

    Well, I would hate to deny my skillet the opportunity to create such a lovely dish! Will have to try this one. thanks for the recipe!

Trackbacks

  1. sloppy joe recipe

Leave a Reply

