Skip to content

My beans have pods!

May 7, 2008
   

IMG_0658, originally uploaded by https://badhuman.wordpress.com.

Those are bean pods right? Either way my Cherokee Trail of Tears beans are performing a new trick. Despite having their leaves eaten my some pest or other they seem to be growing really well.
 
We have some other additions to our container garden. We haven’t been able to grow strawberries from seed so we hit a local nursery and found local strawberry plants and placed them in a hanging basket over the little finger carrots. If I water to much then the water drains over the carrots and waters them.

IMG_0660

They seem to be doing pretty well and had some small white flowers and an itty bitty berry. 

Another new addition are these golden zucchini. (Yes, I did choose some plants based on their unusual color…) They burst out of the ground very quickly and seem to be doing very well. I have to look up what sort of container to plant them in.

IMG_0647

We also FINALLY got some peppers and tomatoes to sprout although I have to say I don’t know that they are doing so well… They sprouted but then possibly started to bolt and now they just look sad and wilty. 

IMG_0652

I took some small paperclips and stuck them in with the seedling to help support them but it doesn’t do a very good job.

On the up side I got bee balm to sprout and it is still looking pretty good! I saw a bumble bee hanging out by the second floor of our balcony so maybe the presence of bee balm will entice them up to the third floor. The key was definitely keeping in moisture by covering the seed trays (it’s too dry in Colorado to do it any other way I think).

IMG_0653

Everything else is doing well and slowly getting more leaves so I hope to have a decent harvest for our first time.

IMG_0663

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2008 11:10 am

    Congratulations! They look gorgeous.

    I love colorful food as well so I don’t blame you for picking plants based on unusual colors.

  2. May 7, 2008 6:35 pm

    Wow! Your seedling look great!

Leave a Reply

