Skip to content

How to hide your greens

May 6, 2008
  

Swiss Chard, originally uploaded by aaron_j_o.

I (N.) really want to like swiss chard, after all it is the only hot pink vegetable that I can think of and I really like hot pink. Unfortunately our first attempt at making swiss chard was a huge disaster. We purchased some and then searched the internet for an easy recipe- almost all of them involved olive oil but I think we used too much. It didn’t turn out well, in fact it wasn’t even edible unless you are one of those people that knock back your olive oil straight from the bottle. We are not those people but I was undaunted!

While searching the internet for new recipe ideas I came across a meatloaf recipe that involved adding chopped greens to the mix. It reminded me of those two books that are out now about hiding vegetables in your kids food (sometimes I think J. and I need those so we will eat more vegetables). I figured it was a safe bet to hide the greens in ground beef and it worked out great. I don’t remember where I saw that recipe so I decided to freestyle it. 

I took:
1lb of lean ground beef
About 3/4 cup bread crumbs
About 1 cup chiffonaded swiss chard
1 egg
1/4 red onion
A dash of salt
A dash of pepper 
A couple tablespoons of chopped oregano fresh from the garden

I dug in with my hands to mix it all up and then I formed a loaf in a 8 X 8 in glass dish.

I covered that with a mix of dark brown sugar, ketchup, and balsamic vinegar. I just made it to taste so I have no idea how much of each was in there. I got the idea from another meatloaf recipe I saw online. 

We baked it at 350 degrees for about 1 1/2 hours. (this is how long it took the meatloaf to reach 160 degrees).

It came out great. The topping added a nice sweetness and the swiss chard and oregano added a nice herby/earthy taste to the loaf.  We served it with sauteed swiss chard (this time in half butter and half olive oil) and homemade potato chips. 

Overall it was a great dinner and  would definitely make it again now that I have documented what I put in there 🙂

Although I have to admit it has not surpassed our favorite meatloaf recipe which calls for liberal amounts of cheese- yum!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. rachel permalink
    May 6, 2008 7:24 pm

    I fell in love with swiss chard with this recipe (very easy): saute some garlic in olive oil for a bit. Add chopped chard and saute a minute or 2. Add some red pepper flakes, some lemon zest (abt 1/2 a lemon) and some lemon juice and keep sauteing until the greens are good and wilted.

    It’s a pretty tasty side. Go easy on the o.o., adding as it seems necessary.

  2. sueb1997 permalink
    May 6, 2008 10:03 pm

    I like to treat chard just like spinach. I’ve eaten it raw in salads, but once the leaves are big that might be a bit too fiber-y. While the leaves are small and tender, I like it that way. I also like to put some coarsely chopped chard leaves and stems into boiling water, just for a few minutes (ten or less). Then once on the plate, drizzle just a bit of red wine vinegar over them. Yum Yum! I hadn’t known how tasty vinegar on greens was til I read about it and tried it a few years ago. Excellent!

Leave a Reply

