Skip to content

Honey, I’m home!

April 29, 2008

Kitely Farms Strawberries, originally uploaded by MeepFly.

Although you guys may not have noticed, I (N.) have been gone for the past four days. I went to Charlotte in the hopes of finding myself a new job since I have submitted and recieved an approved resignation it would be nice to have something lined up… you know so we can eat and stuff like that.

I didn’t get the chance to do much exploring since I spent all day everyday inside a hotel attending workshops and then interviews but I passed enough signs for “you pick strawberries” to be really jonesing for some by the time I got home. We attempted to grow strawberries from seed and failed miserably. We were going to try again but by then the heirloom seeds were sold out- very dissappointing. Since I flew into Denver we decided to check out the oldest nursery in the city and hope that they would have strawberry plants and they did! Even better they were locally raised so we are pretty proud of ourselves although still strawberryless for the foreseeable future while our nearly aquired plants continue to grow.

Some highlights of my trip were all the greenery since Colorado is still mostly brown and the rain. I’m not talking a light shower, no I’m talking rolling thunder and sheets of rain. You wouldn’t think you would miss rain or humidity but I do.

Greenery, originally uploaded by Edward Willett.

 

elemental, originally uploaded by ~~ zorro ~~.

What I haven’t missed about the East Coast is all of this:

I rented a car so that I could visit my friend Becky and so that I didn’t have to shell out the $200 a night to stay in the hotel with the hiring conference.

I have a couple leads on jobs and I’ll keep my fingers crossed that the one I really want works out.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2008 2:30 pm

    Nice pictures! I especially like the one of the strawberrie, its so bright, I want to take a bite out of it!

  2. April 30, 2008 5:27 pm

    The pictures are gorgeous (as always)!

    Good luck on the job front.

  3. April 30, 2008 10:41 pm

    Charlotte, North Carolina? beautiful place. My in-laws live there. But for some reason, I simply love Colorado. It’s the mountains!

    best of luck with the job hunting.

Leave a Reply

