Skip to content

Garden Update 27 Apr 08

April 27, 2008

 

   

IMG_0535, originally uploaded by https://badhuman.wordpress.com.

My broccoli slowly gaining height and leaves. Only two survived my first attempt but I just planted some more seeds so hopefully they do better. In the meantime these guys have a nice large container all to themselves.

Some of the carrots have started to get their feathery leaves which is exciting since that is the first visible change in the past couple weeks. It’s slight frustrating watering them though since the water even when you pour it veeeeeerrrrrrrrry  slooooooooowly and lightly they all fall over and then I have to pick them all up again or they will start to die (by drowning probably). 

Ever the superstar my cherokee trail of tears beans continue to creep higher and have more leaves unfurl. I particularly love the vibrant green color.

Our sweet basil seems to have risen from the dead. I think it was to cold at home (because we never turn the heat on) or perhaps he wasn’t getting enough direct sunlight. Now he sits on my office window and can soak up heat and sun all day long. 

 

IMG_0532

Even our spinach has decided show us a new trick. They are sprouting their second set of leaves that actually look like really miniature spinach. Once theses guys are full grown I already have a greek recipe I want to try with phylo dough, feta, and spinach.

We also added a full on window box herb garden courtesy of our friend Bob as a birthday present for J. He has eight different ones in addition to the basil and parsley we were already growing. 

And on top of all that we decided to sow another round of seeds (we have yet to taste success with tomatoes or peppers) today. We planted two types of tomatoes, one type of pepper, golden zucchini, more bee balm (something else I haven’t been able to grow from seed), some random flower I got for free with my seed order. 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2008 9:48 am

    Look at you! My garden is struggling to survive the onslaught of slugs and such. I just realized that I need to plant my Cherokee Trail of Tears beans after seeing how beautiful yours look. Keep growing!

  2. April 27, 2008 9:57 am

    My bee balm didn’t sprout either. I can’t wait to find out if you have better luck with it the second time around.

  3. April 27, 2008 6:30 pm

    How exciting! My basil last year was a bit moody (it had several growth spurts depending on the weather).

    I just read today that brocolli is the 2nd best (and easiest) vegetable to grow for its nutrient value after tomatoes.

  4. April 28, 2008 1:58 am

    Hello, FYI, Broccoli sprouts have more nutrients then at any other time of the plants growth. I grow Broccoli sprouts for my veggie burrito’s and salads. The health food store actually sells a bottle of organic broccoli seeds, (1000 count) for sprouting. I do have some growing in my garden that I can’t wait to get to full size as well. A pleasure visiting you blog as always. Have a wonderful day!

  5. April 28, 2008 3:55 am

    In Sweden you can get “shower head caps” (sorry, my english fails me here – it’s a quite new feature) for soda bottles, which means you can water with less water at the time, but still spread the water over the area like a pitcher does.

    Here’s a link to a swedish page with pictures of them – not very big, but you’ll know what to look for
    http://www.buxus.se/dusch-rod-till-pet-flaska-39.html

  6. April 28, 2008 9:06 am

    Wow! These are such pretty seedlings! I’m starting to think that I want to grow some carrots too. I think my eyes may be bigger than my garden plot though.

Leave a Reply

