Skip to content

Garden Update 19 April 2008

April 19, 2008
  

IMG_0496, originally uploaded by https://badhuman.wordpress.com.

I was hoping to get some more seeds planted this week but it didn’t happen because I totally forgot about it when I went in to work to water the plants. The above photo is a shot of our broccoli. I only have two that have survived planting and then transplanting… But those two seem to be doing really well.

 

IMG_0495

My happy thought continues to be my Cherokee Trail of Tears beans which are happily climbing up their trellis.

IMG_0494

The little finger carrots look the same as they have for the past week or two but I suppose what matters is what is going on underground.

IMG_0493

The sunflowers are at various stages of growth but the largest flower has opened up to show off it’s strawberry blonde colors.

IMG_0502

The spinach is getting taller and each is getting a third leaf which is pretty exciting. They like to bend towards the sun so I have to make sure to rotate them a couple times a day.

IMG_0503

Here is some mustard that we got free with the rest of our seed order from Baker’s Creek.

IMG_0504

We also got this sorrel for free. Of course the free ones would be doing better then the ones we paid for but it’s exciting to have anything growing so we are newbies.

IMG_0505

And wrapping up the garden update is lettuce is round two. Small but growing strong here is our lettuce.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2008 8:14 am

    Can’t wait to see how this works out for you.

    I planted some cucumbers and onions this past weekend. Even though we’ll be moving in a few months, I wanted to see if I could grow something without killing it.

    My tomato plant seems to have been infected with some fungal growth…so I was a bit sad. I am hoping the remedy (spraying with soap water) works.

  2. April 23, 2008 7:09 am

    Wow, you really planted a big variety of veggies. They look great, and I am sure they’ll eventually be delicious.

Leave a Reply

