Skip to content

Garden Update

April 7, 2008

IMG_0300, originally uploaded by https://badhuman.wordpress.com.

Well here is the latest and greatest from our container garden. Above is the Cherokee Trail of Tears Beans which we replanted into their final container. Two of the four are doing really well and I think two were traumatized by the move… Apparently you shouldn’t try to transplant beans so if those two don’t perk up I will rip them out and plant to seed directly into the planter.

Nothing has come of the second batch of broccoli, lettuce, tomatoes, and peppers which is very sad… We have gotten ourselves a growing flat with clear top. Since Colorado is so dry I’m hoping that by covering it to keep the moisture in they will be able to finally sprout.

On the upside the sunflowers are still doing really well. If they last through the summer we are going to use them as centerpieces as our wedding reception. We planted three different varieties- Strawberry Blonde, Eclipse and something else…

IMG_0301

The spinach is doing really well too and pretty soon we will have to rip some of them out so that they have 3 inches in between. We had some success with our first round of spinach but after a couple weeks they wilted away :(.

IMG_0291

Our final success story is our carrots which have sprouted some greens on our second attempt. The first time around we planted them in newspaper pots but they did nothing and you aren’t supposed to transplant them anyway. The second time we put them directly in the planter and covered them with paper towels that I kept moist.

IMG_0296

So overall I (N.) think we are doing pretty well considering this is our very first attempt at growing anything from seed.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2008 9:06 pm

    Is it possible for plants to be cute? If so, yours definitely are 🙂 I’m trying an experiment right now to see if anything grows if I plant a few seeds out of the veggies I get from the store…I’ll blog about it if anything grows! Hope yours keep doing well!

  2. April 8, 2008 2:27 am

    Ooh, yay! It’s so exciting when something goes from being a dry, shrivelled seed to being a little green shoot! Some of mine have just started peeking through the soil as well.

    Are you growing your beans in a container then?

  3. April 8, 2008 4:35 am

    I think you are doing great! There’s always a few losses; I sowed in 23 eggshells 13th of march, and when I transplanted the plants today I had 18 plants to handle. I’m crazy enough to transplant carrots since I grow them for the leaves in the first place (they are edible and pretty tasty).

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed for your sunflowers!

  4. April 8, 2008 9:37 am

    Oh dear! I didn’t know I shouldn’t transplant beans! I was having a crisis with time so I plunged a few broadbeans into a terracotta pot to get them going – the idea being that they’d be moved into their plot in due course.

    Hmm…might have to rethink that now, or possibly just do an experiment…

  5. April 9, 2008 8:02 am

    Looks like you are doing fantastic with your urban veg garden. I think many more people will be following in your footsteps as food prices rise sharply due to oil prices and agricultural land competing for space with biofuel crops.

    Back to growing veg … I transplant beans with no problems. I always start them off in individual cells (24 compartments to a seed tray) as it saves the newly sprouted plants from slug attack.

    Its a good idea to cover seed trays with plastic but check them morning and night because the plastic needs to be removed as soon as the seeds begin to sprout above the surface. They could be kept in the airing cupboard or somewhere similarly warm to speed up germination. You can buy propagators which are heated seed trays to help germinate heat loving plants like tomatoes, aubergines, peppers and chillis. Leaving plastic on the tray can cause ‘damping off’, which means the steams turn black and the plants wither away due to mould (or is it fungus?!) contamination.

    Best of luck with your brilliant venture, I shall pop back to visit and see your garden grow.

Leave a Reply

