Skip to content

Where I come from, it’s Cornbread and Chicken!

April 4, 2008

N. and I are battling a little bout of the sickness. We’re not really sure what it is, but we both feel like crap. Fortunately, we’re both still hungry, and hungry for something comforting. To that end, we’re making cornbread; like it’s in the oven now.

It’s really, really easy to make cornbread (especially with this recipe), and I for one happen to think that cornbread may be the perfect comfort food.

Here’s what you need:

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup yellow cornmeal
2/3 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon salt
3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 egg
1 cup milk
1/3 cup vegetable oil

Here’s how you do it:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Spray or lightly grease a 9 inch round cake pan.
In a large bowl, combine flour, cornmeal, sugar, salt and baking powder. Stir in egg, milk and vegetable oil until well combined. Pour batter into prepared pan.
Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean.

Easy, no? In fact, I’ve actually completed this entire post in the time that its taken to cook this recipe.

Hope you like it!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2008 9:02 pm

    Hope you stop feeling like crap very soon! hahaahhaa

    Where I ‘come from’ we eat cornbread too! Originally from Louisiana. Hmm, think I’ll make some too now that I’m thinking about it.

    Take care and feel better soon.

    Jennifer
    HomeMattersMost

  2. becky permalink
    April 4, 2008 9:04 pm

    next time add sugar!!!! sugar makes it sooooo much better…and i hope you coated it in a nice thick layer of homemade butter…yummmmmm 🙂 (and i wonder why i seem to have so much baby wieght hanging on!!)

  3. April 6, 2008 7:06 am

    I often serve cornbread with chili and then I add jalapenos and cheese to the cornbread – there are never any leftovers. I enjoyed reading through your blog. Take care.

  4. April 13, 2008 9:46 am

    I’ve never made homemade cornbread, but coincidentally I actually have cornmeal on today’s shoping list because I want to start. Thanks for posting this recipe. Hope you feel better!

Trackbacks

  1. Make It From Scratch! Carnival » the so called me
  2. Dutch Oven Dinner « Bad Human! Don’t take chemicals from strangers!

Leave a Reply

