Skip to content

Itty-bitty, or Plenty?

March 31, 2008

wee-house.jpg

N. and I have been looking forward to moving sometime this year, and I (J.) have become really, really interested in the Wee House developed by Alchemy Architecture of St. Paul, MN as a potential dwelling.

If you’ve not seen one of these before, check out the link. I’m personally quite impressed, and (depending on the availability of suitably green or potentially green houses) would really like to get one of these. And I’m a guy, and therefore obligated to like toys.

Basically, they’re prefab homes, but I feel that this little mission statement says a little more about them than that:

The weeHouse was inspired by sustainable design principles such as building small and efficiently. We hope to offset the suburban trend towards overbuilding by instilling value in modern yet efficient living. By producing weeHouses in carefully chosen, environmentally concerned factories, we are able to greatly reduce construction waste compared to conventional construction procedures. As production of weeHouses increases, we hope to be able to include more low-VOC and green-certified materials into the process. Our architects can customize your weeHouse with even greener materials and systems using active solar, geothermal, green roofs and other solutions as applicable.

I think what I like most about these homes (especially the smaller ones) is the idea of only using the space you need. Admittedly, I complain to N. that our kitchen is WAY too small, pretty much on a daily basis. So, I really would like to stand inside of one of these homes, and determine if its practical (and by that I mean, it would be completely impractical to live in a house that I would complain about and expect N. to put up with it, so I want to make sure I can live with it).

I assure you, we will continue to investigate this unique option for living. And if we end up living in one, I’m sure you’ll hear much more about it:)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2008 4:48 am

    HA! Those are so frickin’ cool! Makes me wish I was shopping for a home!

  2. April 1, 2008 4:58 am

    Thanks for the link. I have been looking at various green houses lately and I hadn’t seen this.

  3. April 1, 2008 8:32 am

    I visit Tumbleweed Houses almost daily, and dream tiny house dreams– http://www.tumbleweedhouses.com/

    Just think of all the gardening space that would be freed up with such a small house on an avarage lot!

  4. April 3, 2008 11:27 am

    I like the tumbleweed houses myself. Oprah featured them awhile back and I think they are absolutely adorable.

    The wee house you have up here is a bit too…open.

  5. Terry permalink
    November 10, 2008 3:17 pm

    Very cool – we’re also considering minimal living. Right now we’re leaning towards the larger Idea Box, but it will be a couple of years before we’re ready. That gives us lots of time to explore options. (see http://www.ideabox.us)

Leave a Reply

