Skip to content

Product Review: WELEDA Citrus Deodorant

March 29, 2008
Sparkling Citrus, originally uploaded by suesue2.

 

One of the green changes that I (N.) wanted to make was in my personal care products. I don’t use a lot anyway but I did want to use up what I had of each product before I switched to a new one. Sadly, my deodorant has died and I was in search of a new one last week. We regularly shop at Whole Foods and I thought it would be a cinch to find a good alternative to Mitchums. I wanted something as chemical free as possible and in the most recyclable container as possible. Most were plastic but one company WELEDA was sold in 3.4 oz glass bottles (contained in a cardboard box which seemed totally extraneous). The squirter top is made of plastic but it’s better then anything else I could find. I had seen reviews of the rose scented deodorant but I’m not a rose girl so I opted for citrus.

I was using antiperspirant which contains aluminum salt. Now I’m not an expert but I did some googling and found that one of the biological reasons for sweating is for the body to release/excrete waste and toxins. When we block sweating we block those toxins from being released and they are then stored in our fatty tissue. Since the last thing I want is MORE toxins collecting in my body I figure this is an easyish change. I still have issues with the idea of being sweaty especially in a work environment and I bike to work… I’m sure I’ll get over it.

I’m not normally a label reader much less a reader of the enclosed small print pamphlet that come with some products but I figured if I was really going to make a green choice I needed to read the fine print. It says that “Fresh fragranced WELEDA Citrus Deodorant, with natural essential oils, provides an immediate feeling of freshness and well being.” My first reaction or rather my armpits first reaction was one of intense stinging pain. I shave with a safety razor and the shaving itself has never bothered my armpits but I shaved before I sprayed this today and wow it hurt. I will say it quickly subsided and I do like the smell. It’s by no means strong or overwhelming and it lasted the entire day although the pamphlet says “Due to the natural formulation of WELEDA Deodorants, you may apply them as often as needed through the day.” To me this translates to we may NEED to spray it multiple times to stay sweet smelling. I’m also suspicious of the repeated use of the word “natural” as we all know there is no regulation in place to determine what can and cannot be labeled “natural” so in essence it is almost meaningless. They go on to say “Most of our plants are grown biodynamically in our own gardens, organically by certified growers, or are gathered from certified wild plant collections.” What about the rest? How does one define most? On the upside they are not tested on animals and they are formulated without artificial fragrances, preservatives or colors (mine is very light green color). They don’t contain materials made from mineral oil or petroleum. Oh and they are made in Switzerland and are in a non-aerosol bottle. Besides Citrus Deodorant WELEDA also sells Wild Rose and Sage Deodorant.

Overall this is a pretty good product and seems as good or better of a green choice to prevent body odor. I suggest giving it a shot and we can slowly get over being wicked out by sweating together :). if anyone else has tried WELEDA products let me know what you think.

Update: I tried to use this for about six months and while it works okay it’s not great. The scent is too strong when you first spray it on and then almost nonexistent after the first hour or so.

If you are interested in eco friendly personal care products you may also be interested in my review on witch hazel toner versus Proactiv.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2008 8:15 am

    I attempted to use several natural deodorants and discovered that I must use something stronger when I go to work or I offend others and sometimes myself with the body odor coming from my armpits since I work outside. I don’t wear it any other time, only when going to work. I personally found the Lavendar to be the longest lasting protection against odor but going to give your new citrus discovery a try. Geesh, In our attempts of being green and healthy we discuss some odd topics…..grin…..

  2. March 30, 2008 10:45 am

    I haven’t tried Weleda, but I use apple cider vinegar as deodorant, dabbed on with a cotton pad or bit of old T-shirt, which is v v ‘natural’ and comes in recyclable glass bottles. Sounds a bit weird, but I swear it works!

  3. chocmoon permalink
    March 30, 2008 8:38 pm

    Hey. I recently switched to Tom’s of Maine (improved with hops). I like it so far, but I haven’t come across any green antiperspirants. Maybe it’s not really green to stop yourself from sweating.

  4. March 31, 2008 4:54 pm

    I went through a couple of natural deodorants but found that without an antiperspirant, I sweat. And once I sweat, I tend to sweat off any deodorant I applied. So then I’m damp and stinky. I recently switched back to a regular antiperspirant (which I love for keeping me dry but hate for all the health and environmental reasons). I haven’t found a solution to this that works yet for me.

  5. April 1, 2008 9:56 am

    I use Weleda’s Almond Moisture Cream and love it. So far it’s the only product I’ve tried.

  6. Robin permalink
    May 1, 2008 10:01 pm

    My husband and I both use Weleda citrus and love it! On extremely hot days it might require a second application. Great fresh smell. Expensive, though.

  7. Alexis permalink
    May 9, 2008 10:18 pm

    I just discovered Weleda at a friend’s house a few weeks ago who had all three varieties. I weaned myself off antiperspirants about a year and a half ago. I’ve tried Tom’s that didn’t really work for me, the “Crystal” which after a few usages is like scraping a stalagmite under your arm and there was an Arm & Hammer deodorant – that did not have antiperspirant which I can not seem to find anymore. I love the Weleda Citrus smell. It definitely makes you feel fresh but within 3 hours I begin to perspire after not much activity. I wonder if its from the rush of caffine in my morning black tea. Regardless, I’ve decided to buy an extra bottle and just bring to work. It is expensive. Although I know there is not a proven link between antiperspirants and deodorant, I just think chemotherapy is more expensive.

  8. Catalina permalink
    June 2, 2009 1:43 pm

    I recently started using coconut oil as a deoderant. It much more effective than any other deoderant I have ever used, including Toms’s Lemongrass and deoderant crystal stones.

    I just dip my finger in a small jar of oil and wipe a thin film all over the under arm area. Any slight oiliness is quickly absorbed by the skin. I use so little that there are never oil stains on my clothing. My husband is also using it and is impressed with how fresh he smells. There is a slight coconut aroma, which we both like.

    We live in the sub-tropics in Mexico, so our deoderant has to work. This one does.

  9. Nina permalink
    September 15, 2009 9:59 pm

    I have been using plain old alcohol for many years now. On very hot summer days, I’ll take a little spray bottle with me to refresh, but I generally have no odor (and I’m pretty stinky), but I do sweat. A gynecologist recommended alcohol to me over 20 years ago when she discovered a lump under my arm. The lump is harmless, but will swell up pretty painfully when I use any deodorant or anti-perspirant. Alcohol is inexpensive and works! I’ll try the coconut oil just for something different.

Trackbacks

  1. Thayer’s Rose Petal Witch Hazel Toner « Bad Human! Don’t take chemicals from strangers!
  2. Tom’s B.O. Blocker « Bad Human! Don’t take chemicals from strangers!

Leave a Reply

