Skip to content

Pho-pas

March 29, 2008

800px-vietnamese_pho_beef_noodles_2007.jpg

Above is a picture of a really good-looking bowl of beef pho. Try as we may have, we couldn’t make ours work. Junwei has created, what I’m sure is, a really tasty and authentic recipe. I (J.) just happen to have made too many substitutions that probably led to our soup’s downfall.

What we did (wrong):

We used a beef stock from a box, not a homemade broth.
I (J. again) put in a big-ol’ whole stick of cinnamon. For the quantity we made, that was about 250% overkill.
We couldn’t find fish sauce at any of our regular retail food haunts. I’m sure that was a really big no-no.
This one could have been totally avoided: I (yes, J.) have this aversion to raw beef. I pan fried it (ala, Philly cheesesteak). Fortunately, we’ve got plenty of ultra-thin cut beef for some tasty steak sandwiches. Unfortunately, it probably cost us major in the tastiness department.

In retrospect, I would not do pretty much everything that we did. Rather, I would do everything that Junwei prescribes.
I’d still really like some pho. Not happening tonight, though.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2008 1:36 am

    Making your own stock makes a dramatic difference to your pho. I forget the cut my husband buys, but gets cuts with bones and have it simmer for a long time (we do it on a low flame all day).

  2. March 29, 2008 1:54 am

    Thats a really cool picture, even if it didn’t work out. I always end up making substitutions in my recipes, to find out that i messed it up big time. lol

  3. Christine permalink
    March 30, 2008 10:55 pm

    You guys do know what fish sauce is, right? And that you should put a little Vick’s under your nose before opening fish sauce. We used to have some when I was in my Thai phase, and all I can say is NEVER again. I, personally, never felt like I was missing out on much without it.

Leave a Reply

