Skip to content

No More Wire Hangars!!!

March 22, 2008
CIMG1375, originally uploaded by nickatnight.

 

Betcha didn’t read many titles with Joan Crawford biopic references today, did you? Well, I hope that N. and I have helped you live a more fulfilling life.

As some of you may have read (and you certainly still can on our previous entries), N. and I have switched to more sustainable shaving apparatus. I (J.) have opted to use a straight razor. Along with this particular razor comes many necessities; strop, honing stone, strop paste, shaving brush. Today, I’ll focus on a necessary accessory for the shaving brush.

OK, one caveat: you don’t actually need this. In fact, this isn’t really about the accessory; its about making something from something you have, vs. buying something you don’t necessarily need.

While shaving and using my shaving brush, I discovered that the brush dries stiff when left of handle with the bristles pointed skyward. One remedy for this is to hang the brush from the handle. The problem was that there was nothing from which to hang the brush. I used a wire hangar that I think we got from… who knows where (wire hangars just sort of show up)… to make a rack to hang the brush. Problem solved. Like I said, not essential, but something that will probably help maintain a functional brush for years to come.

Frugal? Yes. Resourceful? Yes. Attractive? Not at all. Functional? Absolutely.

It’s been said (at least I’ve heard it said) that necessity is the mother of all invention. I didn’t invent anything, but did create something out of necessity from something that would probably have spent the rest of our lives unused in the back of our closet.

Give something like this a shot today. Make something you need from something you don’t. If you’re concerned about what your neighbors think, as them if you can make one for them.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Peggy permalink
    March 25, 2008 7:37 am

    Is that a frog soap dish? So cute.

    I would really cut myself with a blade like that. I’m going to have to go with Preserve
    recyclable razors from Recycline. I admire you though.

Leave a Reply

