Skip to content

Simply Irresistible, she’s so fine theres no telling where my money went…

March 18, 2008

I think I(N.) have a problem and the first step is to admit it right?

J. and I have decided to try to grow some seeds. We didn’t do a ton of research and we didn’t put a ton of effort into and since we no longer turn on the heat in our apartment all of our potential seedlings are currently germinating in my office without any special light and heating pad. So needless to say it’s a rather slow process.

One of the first things we planted was strawberry blonde sunflowers like the one above. However, being only a couple weeks old they look like this.

CIMG1370

And “oddly enough” the amount of hovering I do a day has no affect on their growth rate. We do have other seeds planted and staying with me in the office but right now they are just newspaper pots of dirt. I do hover over them occasionally and sometimes do a little finger poking to see if anything is coming up but alas so far no luck. I guess in the meantime the sunflowers will have to tolerate an overattentive “mother.”

Do you find yourself hovering over your seeds, seedlings, or plants? Any suggestions for reducing my complusive need to do so?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2008 11:13 am

    Those sunflowers get really pretty. I don’t think I have seen those before. Very pretty.

    I have some Teddy bear sunflower seeds but I haven’t started them just yet (guess I should.)

    Dora Renee’ Wilkerson

  2. March 19, 2008 2:24 pm

    Hovering over newly sprouted green babies is a compulsion for which there is NO cure. Afraid you’re just gonna have to learn to live with it…

  3. March 20, 2008 11:16 pm

    The compulsion to watch seedlings apparently starts very young for some. My daughter loves to hover over the seeds. She will come running in, pull over a chair, climb up saying “plants daddy” and proceed to point them all out to me. I got a nice picture on my blog: http://tiredgarden.info/blogs/tiredgardener/seed-starts

    Enjoy,

    Jason

  4. March 22, 2008 12:16 pm

    Once the seed is started, who wouldn’t need to make sure it does ok?

    Can’t wait to see the pictures of your sunflowers.

  5. July 9, 2009 10:56 pm

    I grew another variety in Colorado this year. More pink and yellow in the petals.
    Mine are taller than me now, and Im no shorty at 5’9.
    And yes I found myself constantly checking them and sometime poking also.
    I found poking around in the dirt, tilling it up and prepping it for the plants helped me to leave the babies alone.
    Now my side garden is being Overrun by 3 Blue Moon Pumpkins…. I had no idea those 3 little seedlings would thrive quite like they have!

Trackbacks

  1. Tired Garden

Leave a Reply

