Skip to content

Nice rack!!!

March 18, 2008

2341618521_a3061e3acb.jpg

Let’s talk, however briefly, about the economy of space. N. and I live in a comfortably small apartment, and we’ve learned to live with less space while learning to use that space to accommodate the things we’ve learned we can’t live without.

A Fairly inexpensive Baker’s rack can be a great use of vertical space in an area that might otherwise go unused. For N. and I, it is basically an extension of our very well-used, and horizontally-exhausted counter space in our kitchen, where a traditional dining-room table might go to seat 4-6 adults.

We don’t really formally entertain a lot of people, and the few whom we do have over for dinner are content with chatting on the sofa with us while we munch (An action which Emily (our Jack Russell) advocates completely, as she continually surfs the anterior seating area for Scooby Snacks).

We own a 2,700 sq. FT. home in Fayetteville, NC. We don’t live there, but we did live there for a while. The “House” (as we’ll call it) was completely new, as in, we were the first owners. It had a formal dining area, as well as an eat in kitchen. N. and I have actually entertained more people in our 750 sq. FT apartment than we did at that house, and (accordingly) we’ve adjusted our lifestyle. We never did use the formal dining area in the house. Not once.

The House was really nice. We lived there together for about three months, and about 5 months total before we rented the house to an wonderful family that can really make good use of the space. The House could really store every item (and then some) that we owned; especially in the kitchen. Living in an incredibly (by comparison) small apartment has been a challenge; however, challenges are meant to be risen to, and I believe we’ve done quite well with the space we’ve decided upon.

If you currently occupy a small abode, N. and I challenge you to make the most of it. Do you really, really, in your heart of hearts need a “cooks triangle” in your kitchen? Do you really need a cabinet that store your tupperware… and nothing else? What else do you keep in your eat-in kitchen? Martha Stewart curtains and seat cushions to match? I’d challenge you to find something else to store in that space. When you’ve found that you don’t need all of the space that good fortune and fate have bestowed upon you, I would challenge you to move to somewhere that is on the threshold of your “convenient” square footage, and do without for a period of time. Let’s call that period of time the rental contract of a typical apartment in the United States, or about one year.

Lets all try this: let’s only use the space that we need, not that which society dictates we should have per our income. N. and I do well, but we’re trying not to live too far outside out means, and when we do, again, live in the domicile which we own, it is our goal to have that home be as NECESSARY as it need be. This includes our domicile and cooking area. Can you do the same? Let’s all try, and one year from today, we’ll all blog about how we’ve managed. Come on: give it a shot!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2008 1:35 pm

    I can remember when we bought our house and had our MIL take a look at it, she looked around and told us she didn’t like it. I asked her why. “It doesn’t have enough storage space.” I looked at her, “I don’t believe in storing junk.”

    That was the end of that. We bought the house. It’s perfect for us, and if we have more kids, it’ll be a challenge to find a place to put them. But I’m not moving (until we build an environmentally friendly underground home some day in the future – mainly because I’m phobic of tornados and live in tornado alley – I spend all spring, summer, and fall in a state of constant panic) out of here.

    Some of the places she said had no “storage space” we’ve built closets into. One was walk-in-closet size, in our bedroom, and just had nothing in it. I’ve blueprinted out a great way to get storage on every level of that closet (floor, under the clothes racks; shelves, above the clothes racks and on facing walls; benches, etc).

    I don’t know why people think they need so much space and junk. Maybe they just need to learn to say f*** it, and stop caring so much about appearances. Instead, they should care about what’s inside – personality, genuineness, and altruism, etc.

    (P.S. Now that we’ve been living here a little over a year, she loves our house. She just couldn’t see it the way I did, at the time. 🙂

  2. March 18, 2008 4:18 pm

    I live in a 313 sf studio apartment. Last year, my super told me that a one-bedroom apartment in my building was available and I was moaning to a friend “If only I made a little more money I could afford to move into that apartment!” My friend looked at me blankly and said “But do you NEED more space?” And that was when I realized that even though I liked the idea of a bigger apartment, I didn’t need it. I’m content in my tiny home now!

Leave a Reply

