Skip to content

The Love Shack is a little old place…where we can get together

March 14, 2008

A Woodland Home, originally uploaded by sparklethots.

I(N.) saw a link to this picture on another blog and was amazed at whese these build were able to do themselves. They with the help of family and friends built this home in about four months at the cost of about $3,000. You can check out the details yourself and perhaps you will be as amazed as I was. J. recently started reading a lot about stone construction and now wants to buy some land and build a stone house for us. I’m a bit more pragmatic and think we should buy a small older home and then “green it up” by installing solar power, a grey water system, a full garden etc.

Which would you rather do or think you will do? Do you dream of building your own eco friendly home? Would you go as extreme as this family did? Or would you rather make some green changes to an existing traditional home?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2008 6:39 pm

    I’ve looked into this myself, and I’ve heard from multiple sources that it’s easier to build a truly green house from the ground up than try to retrofit an existing house.

  2. March 16, 2008 12:17 am

    This is my DREAM! Although it’s a bit difficult when you have no time, money, or land. For right now I just stash away ideas in the ‘home file’ and imagine how amazing it would be to build the place where I dwell!

    PS: thanks for the addition to the blogroll!

  3. March 16, 2008 4:31 pm

    I love that picture. I would definitely buy an old house and convert it. It is the ultimate recycling. Besides, old houses have so much character. I grew up in a 100+ year old farmhouse. There were all kinds of weird passageways and rooms. My brother and I were constantly discovering clues as to the house’s previous occupants. We even found 50 year old kid drawings under the staircase. (Of course, being a typical big brother, he convinced me that the kid actually still lived under the stairs.) I’m sure it is NOT financially easier to do this, but it would be more rewarding for me.

  4. March 16, 2008 8:09 pm

    We live in a flat, which saves a lot of energy compared to if we would have lived in a house of the same size (we use 40% less energy to be specific). In addition to that we are planning to change energy provider to one that only uses wind and water. And, of course, I grow vegetables indoors to have extremely homegrown food 🙂

    Having said that I have to admit having a few wild ideas. Flatowners are organised in ‘house societies’ (covering one or more houses) in Sweden and I have looked over our “turf” many times thinking
    “Wouldn’t we benefit from covering all our roofs with solar panels and perhaps adding a few wind turbines on the most windy spots?”
    I’ve actually found a swedish company that could be a suitable partner for that (what I dread is the fight to hammer the idea into the heads of the board).

    I’ve also been tempted many times by the “nature houses”. The idea is simple; you build a giant greenhouse around the normal house, which is either built at the same time, or a house already on the spot. As far as I know two exists in Sweden, both with webpages
    http://www.ecorelief.se/?lang=en
    http://www.ecosol.se/enversion/indexen.html (unfortunately “under construction” but there are a few pictures worth viewing there).
    They do look cool (or perhaps “hot”) and have extensive systems for cleaning water and heating the air ecologically.

Leave a Reply

