Skip to content

Ah, ha, ha, ha, stayin alive!

March 7, 2008

My (N.) previous attempts at keeping plants alive much less growing something have been dismal failures. So far there is only one plant that I have managed to keep alive for the past 9 years and even that guys is looking a little wilted now in the Colorado weather. Not to be daunted though, J. and decided to try our own growing challenge. Growing something from seeds is a little advanced for us so we are sticking with seedlings and established plants. Instead of flowers for Valentine’s Day I asked for a recieved this guy.

IMG_0276

His name is Spike and he is an Aloe Vera plant. His particular brand of comfort has come in great handy now that I have switched to a safety razor. Since he seems to be doing pretty well we decided to expand and purchase some herbs and some more succulents. J. really wanted Parsley and Basil.

IMG_0277

We cut into the parsley for the first time yesterday and I have to admit it was rather disconcerting for me to watch him “harvest” the leaves and then eat. Somehow it felt a little cannablistic. But that just shows how removed I have been from my food sources.

I on the other hand really wanted lavender after reading about it’s many medicinal uses.

IMG_0280

And then somehow in the midst of wandering around the nursery we came across these guys and couldn’t resist.

IMG_0273

We bought then seperately along with a plain terra cotta pot and then painted the pot and grouped them together.

IMG_0274

So if everyone would keep their fingers crossed (for the plants sake) that we don’t kill them that would be great 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2008 8:59 pm

    They are lovely plants! Over the years, I’ve killed more aloe plants than I care to mention, so many in fact friends have stopped giving me starts… Me and succulents don’t do well together. Good luck with yours!

  2. March 7, 2008 9:57 pm

    Succulent babies are so cute! Two tips on succulents- 1) Sunlight, sunlight, sunlight. And 2) really good drainage. Potting mediums for succulents ideally should have some sharp sand and little rocks blended in.

    Aw, crap- now I have the Bee Gees stuck in my head. Guess it beats “I’m F**k**g Matt Damon!” which it the ONLY song I’ve had in my head for the past week.

    …Great. Now I have both in my head AT THE SAME TIME.

  3. March 8, 2008 1:36 am

    The plants are beautiful! It was so satisfying to eat home grown and home made pesto last year. And I’m slightly worried about keeping my plants alive too…

  4. March 9, 2008 11:25 pm

    Awesome plants! Aloe is super easy to keep alive so I’m sure you’ll do well with it as long as it gets tons of light. I have about 8 aloe plants that all do really well because they gets a lot of sunlight. Also, I only water them every 3 to 4 weeks and they seem to like that.

    As for your basil and parsley plants, all I can say is good luck. It will definitely be harder to keep those alive indoors, but I’ve seen it done (although not by me). I’ve definitely had more luck with growing basil and parsley outdoors. In fact, it’s super easy. Last year, I ended up with about 4 square feet of basil and 3 square feet of parsley. As you can imagine, I made tons of pesto with it when the fall came. I still have a lot of it in my freezer, and I’ve been enjoying it all winter.

    Anyways, you’re plants look lovely! Thanks for the post!

  5. March 30, 2008 7:15 am

    I love your bowl of succulents! It is such a beautiful arrangement!

Leave a Reply

