Skip to content

What you lookin for? You lookin for some more?

March 5, 2008

orange-tree.jpg

J. and I love orange juice. We could probably drink gallons of it in a week if we let ourselves (which we don’t). When we started to become more eco conscious we realized that our orange juice isn’t very “green.” Now we weren’t drinking from concentrate which takes more processing and therefore causes more pollution but we were drinking non-organic from a plastic bottle which is bad, bad, bad! We did a little research (not enough apparently) and decided that our best bet was to buy the frozen organic orange juice in a can (not from concentrate). We thought we were so smart but were immediately frustrated when we couldn’t find any more organic canned OJ anywhere. I’m not sure if it was sold out or they stopped carrying it but it was gone. So we switched to regular not from concetrate canned OJ until I read this . I can’t seem to win for losing.

My new goal was to find OJ in a glass bottle which I used to drink growing up but I can’t seem to find it anywhere. So I’m at a loss. I don’t see us giving up OJ anytime in the near future and I don’t think an orange tree would grow on my Colorado apartment balcony so I guess I’ll go with OJ in a plastic bottle which can be rinsed out and recycled.

Communist!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2008 3:27 am

    I see you’re in Colorado Springs. I’m in Boulder and I know our local dairy (Longmont Dairy) will deliver OJ in glass bottles along with their milk in the morning. Don’t know if it helps, but you might look into what your local dairy farm has available. Our WildOats market sells it too, but if you don’t have one of those that doesn’t help either…

  2. cindy permalink
    March 6, 2008 5:45 am

    I have decided to try and make my own orange juice. I live in los angeles and pass all these trees with tons of oranges just falling off. Got a bag from my neighbor and am on the hunt for more. I want to freeze some and then add more water with sugar later.

  3. March 6, 2008 9:39 am

    Hello,

    I also went on a search for OJ in a glass bottle or any juice and could not find it. I do remember as a child getting it in glass bottle. Please do tell if you find it anywhere in glass bottle.

  4. March 6, 2008 1:49 pm

    Not to be a pain in the butt or anything… but how about squeezing your own and reserving it as a special treat? Carbon/ pollution would certainly be reduced somewhat if you just bought a bag of oranges now and again. OJ used to be a rare treat, not for every day consumption. Maybe it should be again.

    Besides, a good antique glass juicer is a thing of beauty, cheap and easy to find, works well, and you no doubt burn some calories juicing with it.

    I’m torn on this subject too- I love the stuff. I think about every time I drink it. We’ve cut down on the industrial stuff considerably for exactly the reasons you mentioned. Honestly though- there’s nothing like fresh squeezed!

  5. March 6, 2008 6:43 pm

    You might consider abandoning orange juice and eating the oranges instead. Not only is there less time and energy involved in eating the fruit versus eating the juice, but you will consume less as well. While one orange will probably fill you up, an 8 ounce glass of juice takes three to four oranges and really won’t quell hunger much at all. Additionally, while oranges contain lots of fruity flesh and fiber, orange juice has very little.

    Pass on the orange juice and just eat the orange. It’s better for you and better for the environment.

Leave a Reply

